search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Edward Kass Lectureship

    2015 Featured Lecturer

    Karen C. Carroll, MD, FIDSA

    CarrollKaren C. Carroll, MD, FIDSA, is a professor of pathology and medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where she also serves as director of the Division of Medical Microbiology and the fellowship training program in medical microbiology. Her focused areas of clinical research at Johns Hopkins, where she joined the faculty in 2002, have been the epidemiology and rapid diagnosis of healthcare-associated infections, especially Clostridium difficile infections. Dr. Carroll attended the University of Maryland School of Medicine and stayed on to do an internship in primary care internal medicine. She spent the next three years in Rochester, NY, in the internal medicine program at the Associated Hospitals Program of the University of Rochester School of Medicine, where she was chief resident of her program. She completed a two-year clinical fellowship in infectious diseases at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center and a second fellowship in medical microbiology at the University of Utah School of Medicine.
    Dr. Carroll was appointed assistant professor of pathology, with an adjunct appointment in infectious diseases, at the University of Utah, and she became the associate director of the microbiology laboratory for the Associated Regional and University Pathologists (ARUP) Laboratories, a rapidly growing, national reference laboratory owned by the University of Utah. Over the next 12 years, she became the director of the infectious diseases laboratories at ARUP and was promoted to associate professor of pathology at the University of Utah, before joining the faculty at Johns Hopkins. The author of over 200 peer-reviewed scientific papers, Dr. Carroll is a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, IDSA, and the College of American Pathologists. She is an active member of the American Society for Microbiology and has served on several of its committees.

    Past Edward Kass Lecturers 

    2014 Janet Gilsdorf, MD, FIDSA, FPIDS  
    2013 Peter Hotez, MD, PhD
    2012 Elaine L. Larson, PhD, RN, FIDSA
    2011 Larry Pickering, MD
    2010 Richard Wenzel, MD, MPH
    2009 Paul A. Volberding, MD
    2008 Arturo Casadevall, MD
    2007 David Relman, MD
    2006 Wafaa El-Sadr, MD
    2005 Constance A. Benson, MD
    2004 Lucy Tompkins, MD, PhD
    2003 Seymour J. Klebanoff, MD, PhD
    2002 Stanley A. Plotkin, MD
    2001 John G. Bartlett, MD
    2000 Walter Stamm, MD
    1999 Sharon Hillier, PhD
    1998 Martin Blaser, MD
    1997 Judith Wasserheit, MD
    1996 Charles S. Bryan, MD
    1995 Alfred Evans, MD
    1994 Jay Sanford, MD
    1993 Floyd Denny, MD
    1992 Allan Brandt
    1991 Theodore Woodward, MD


| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2016 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site