search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • IDSA Presidents 

    Current President

    Bill PowderlyWilliam G. Powderly, MD, FIDSA, President

    William G. Powderly, MD, FIDSA, is the J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine and co-director of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. He is director of the Institute for Public Health at Washington University and is an attending physician at Barnes-Jewish Hospital.

    Dr. Powderly’s current research interests include long-term complications of HIV and antiretroviral therapy; fungal infections, especially cryptococcosis, and the translation of clinical advances to public health and public policy.

    He was the inaugural chair of the HIV Medicine Association (HIVMA) of IDSA and was a founding member of the St. Louis Infectious Diseases Society.

    Dr. Powderly graduated from the School of Medicine at University College, Dublin, Ireland in 1979. He did his internship and residency at St. Vincent's Hospital and Mater Misericordiae Hospital in Dublin (1979-1983), and completed his infectious diseases fellowship at the Washington University School of Medicine in 1986.

    Past IDSA Presidents

    2016 Johan S. Bakken, MD, PhD, FIDSA
    2015 Stephen B. Calderwood, MD, FIDSA
    2014      Barbara E. Murray, MD, FIDSA
    2013 David A. Relman, MD, FIDSA
    2012 Thomas G. Slama, MD, FIDSA
    2011 James M. Hughes, MD, FIDSA
    2010 Richard J. Whitley, MD, FIDSA
    2009 Anne A. Gershon, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Donald M. Poretz, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Henry Masur, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Martin J. Blaser, MD, FIDSA
    2005 Walter E. Stamm, MD, FIDSA
    2004 Joseph R. Dalovisio, MD, FIDSA
    2003 W. Michael Scheld, MD, FIDSA
    2002 David N. Gilbert, MD, FIDSA
    2001 Carol J. Baker, MD, FIDSA
    2000 Catherine M. Wilfert, MD, FIDSA
    1999 John G. Bartlett, MD, FIDSA
    1998 John E. Bennett, MD, FIDSA
    1997 P. Frederick Sparling, MD, FIDSA
    1996 Donald Armstrong, MD, FIDSA
    1995 Vincent Andriole, MD, FIDSA
    1994 Gerald Mandell, MD, FIDSA
    1993 Merle Sande, MD, FIDSA
    1992 R. Gordon Douglas, Jr., MD, FIDSA
    1991 Robert Moellering, Jr., MD, FIDSA
    1990 Herbert DuPont, MD, FIDSA
    1989 Morton N. Swartz, MD, FIDSA
    1988 Jack S. Remington, MD, FIDSA
    1987 Calvin M. Kunin, MD, FIDSA
    1986 Richard B. Hornick, MD, FIDSA
    1985 Paul G. Quie, MD, FIDSA
    1984 Theodore C. Eickhoff, MD, FIDSA
    1983 Abraham I. Braude, MD, PhD, FIDSA
    1982 Sydney M. Finegold, MD, FIDSA
    1981 Sheldon M. Wolff, MD, FIDSA
    1980 Floyd W. Denny, MD, FIDSA
    1979 Jay P. Sanford, MD, FIDSA
    1978 Harry A. Feldman, MD, FIDSA
    1977 Theodore E. Woodward, MD, FIDSA
    1976 Edward W. Hook, MD, FIDSA
    1975 Dorothy M. Horstmann, MD, FIDSA
    1974 George Gee Jackson, MD, FIDSA
    1973 Leighton E. Cluff, MD, FIDSA
    1972 Gordon Meiklejohn, MD, FIDSA
    1971 Robert Austrian, MD, FIDSA
    1970 Edward H. Kass, MD, PhD, FIDSA
    1969 Albert B. Sabin, MD, FIDSA
    1968 Walsh McDermott, MD, FIDSA
    1967 Charles H. Rammelkamp, MD, FIDSA
    1966 Harry F. Dowling, MD, FIDSA
    1965 John F. Enders, PhD, FIDSA
    1964 Maxwell Finland, MD, FIDSA


| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2017 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site