search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • IDSA Presidents 

    Current President

    Barbara Murray_editedBarbara E. Murray, MD, FIDSA, President

    Barbara E. Murray, MD, FIDSA, is is director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas (UT) Medical School at Houston. She also serves as co-director of the Center for the Study of Emerging and Re-Emerging Pathogens at the UT Health Science Center-Houston.
    She previously served as IDSA’s Secretary-Treasurer and on numerous committees and task forces. Currently, she serves on the Editorial Board of The Journal of Infectious Diseases and as a member of IDSA’s Antibiotic Availability Task Force.

    Dr. Murray’s research interests include the pathogenesis of E. faecium and of E. faecalis,  mechanisms of antibiotic resistance, the molecular epidemiology of antibiotic resistant organisms and diarrheagenic pathogens, and the efficacy of antibiotics against resistant enterococci and staphylococci. She has served in leadership positions in many organizations, including the American Society for Microbiology, the International Society for Infectious Diseases, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, and the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases.

    Dr. Murray attended medical school at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, did a fellowship in tropical medicine at Louisiana State University, and did her internship, residency and ID fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School.

    Past IDSA Presidents

    2013 David A. Relman, MD
    2012 Thomas G. Slama, MD
    2011 James M. Hughes, MD
    2010 Richard J. Whitley, MD
    2009 Anne A. Gershon, MD
    2008 Donald M. Poretz, MD
    2007 Henry Masur, MD
    2006 Martin J. Blaser, MD
    2005 Walter E. Stamm, MD
    2004 Joseph R. Dalovisio, MD
    2003 W. Michael Scheld, MD
    2002 David N. Gilbert, MD
    2001 Carol J. Baker, MD
    2000 Catherine M. Wilfert, MD
    1999 John G. Bartlett, MD
    1998 John E. Bennett, MD
    1997 P. Frederick Sparling, MD
    1996 Donald Armstrong, MD
    1995 Vincent Andriole, MD
    1994 Gerald Mandell, MD
    1993 Merle Sande, MD
    1992 R. Gordon Douglas, Jr., MD
    1991 Robert Moellering, Jr., MD
    1990 Herbert DuPont, MD
    1989 Morton N. Swartz, MD
    1988 Jack S. Remington, MD
    1987 Calvin M. Kunin, MD
    1986 Richard B. Hornick, MD
    1985 Paul G. Quie, MD
    1984 Theodore C. Eickhoff, MD
    1983 Abraham I. Braude, MD, PhD
    1982 Sydney M. Finegold, MD
    1981 Sheldon M. Wolff, MD
    1980 Floyd W. Denny, MD
    1979 Jay P. Sanford, MD
    1978 Harry A. Feldman, MD
    1977 Theodore E. Woodward, MD
    1976 Edward W. Hook, MD
    1975 Dorothy M. Horstmann, MD
    1974 George Gee Jackson, MD
    1973 Leighton E. Cluff, MD
    1972 Gordon Meiklejohn, MD
    1971 Robert Austrian, MD
    1970 Edward H. Kass, MD, PhD
    1969 Albert B. Sabin, MD
    1968 Walsh McDermott, MD
    1967 Charles H. Rammelkamp, MD
    1966 Harry F. Dowling, MD
    1965 John F. Enders, PhD
    1964 Maxwell Finland, MD



Average 0 out of 5

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2014 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site