search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Joseph E. Smadel Lectureship

    2014 Featured Lecturer

    Robert A. Weinstein, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA

    2014 Joseph Smadel LectureDr. Weinstein is chairman of medicine for the Cook County Health and Hospitals System; chief operating officer for the Ruth M. Rothstein CORE Center for the Prevention, Care, and Research of Infectious Diseases; and the C. Anderson Hedberg, MD, Professor of Internal Medicine at Rush Medical College, all in Chicago. Dr. Weinstein’s clinical and research interests focus on healthcare-acquired infections (particularly the epidemiology, costs, and prevention of antimicrobial resistance and infections in intensive care units), rapid HIV testing, and healthcare costs and outcomes for patients with HIV/AIDS. Dr. Weinstein is a past president of SHEA and a past-chair of the Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). He has received numerous awards, including the National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems 1999 Clinical Research Award, the SHEA Lectureship Award in 2005, and the SHEA Mentor Award in 2008. He was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from CDC in 2010 and the IDSA Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award in 2012. Dr. Weinstein has published more than 300 peer-reviewed scientific articles, more than 50 book chapters, two books, and numerous digital and online educational materials.

    Past Joseph E. Smadel Lectureship Winners

    2013 Myron S. Cohen, MD
    2012 Diane Havlir, MD
    2011 William Schaffner, MD    
    2010 Kathleen M. Neuzil, MD, MPH
    2009 Myron Levine, MD
    2008 Jane E. Koehler, MA, MD
    2007 Kathryn M. Edwards, MD
    2006 Allan R. Roland, MD
    2005 Lyle Petersen, MD, MPH
    2004 Eric Ottesen, MD
    2003 Didier Raoult, MD, PhD
    2002 Donald A. Henderson, MD
    2001 Karl Johnson, MD
    2000 Anna Schuchat, MD
    1999 Lou Miller, MD
    1998 Thomas Wellems, MD, PhD
    1997 Brett Finlay, PhD
    1996 Scott B. Halstead, MD
    1995 David T. Dennis, MD, MPH
    1994 Roy Anderson, FRS
    1993 Richard Guerrant, MD
    1992 Alfred Sommer, MD
    1991 Charles Carpenter, MD
    1990 Zanvil Cohen
    1989 Thomas Grayston, MD
    1988 P. Fredrick Sparling, MD
    1987 Jack M. Gwaltney, MD
    1986 Richard Johnson, MD
    1985 Franklin Neva, MD
    1984 Maurice Hilleman, PhD
    1983 Garrison Rapmund, MD
    1982 Richard Hornick, MD
    1981 Baruj Benacerraf, MD
    1980 Robert Chanock, MD
    1979 Philip Russell, MD
    1978 Philip Paterson, MD
    1977 Carleton Gajdusek, MD


| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2016 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site