search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Maxwell Finland Lectureship 

    2014 Featured Lecturer

    Liise-Anne Pirofski, MD, FIDSA

    2014 Maxwell Finland LectureDr. Pirofski is professor of medicine, microbiology, and immunology, the Selma and Jacques Mitrani Professor of Biomedical Research at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and Montefiore Medical Center in Bronx, New York. She has had a longstanding National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded research program on immunity to encapsulated pathogens, has had extensive service on NIH study sections and advisory panels on infectious diseases, and is an editor of mBio and Infection and Immunity. Dr. Pirofski is also a co-developer of the Damage-response Framework; an integrated theory of microbial pathogenesis and the pathogenesis of infectious diseases. She is a member of the Association of American Physicians and American Academy of Microbiology and a fellow of IDSA and the American College of Physicians. Dr. Pirofski earned her BA at the University of California, Berkeley, and her MD from Albert Einstein College of Medicine. She did her residency in internal medicine at Bellevue Hospital and New York University Medical Center and her fellowship in infectious diseases and post-doctoral training at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Montefiore Medical Center.

    Past Maxwell Finland Award Lecturers 

    2013 Victoria J. Fraser, MD
    2012 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
    2011     Julie Parsonnet, MD
    2010        Gerald Friedland, MD
    2009 Cynthia L. Sears, MD
    2008 Anthony Fauci, MD
    2007 Louis B. Rice, MD
    2006 W. Michael Scheld, MD
    2005 William Dismukes, MD
    2004 King Holmes, MD, PhD
    2003 Robert C. Moellering, Jr., MD
    2002 Jerome Klein, MD
    2001 Margaret Hostetter, MD
    2000 P. Frederick Sparling, MD
    1999 Frederick Southwick, MD
    1998 Elain Tuomanen, MD
    1997 Gerald Keusch, MD
    1996 Barbara Murray, MD
    1995 Theodore Eickhoff, MD
    1994 Carol Baker, MD
    1993 Stanley Falkow, PhD
    1992 John Bennett, MD
    1991 Michael Blaese, MD
    1990 Robert Gallo, MD
    1989 John Robbins, MD
    1988 Thomas Merigan, MD
    1987 R. Palmer Beasley, MD, MS
    1986 Alexander Langmuir, MD
    1985 Harry Dowling, MD
    1984 Albert Sabin, MD
    1983 Paul Quie, MD
    1982 Jack Remington, MD
    1981 Abraham Braude, MD, PhD
    1980 Maclyn McCarty, MD
    1979 Harry Feldman, MD
    1978 Dorothy Horstmann, MD
    1977 George Jackson, MD
    1976 Edward Kass, MD, PhD, MS
    1975 George Meiklejohn, MD
    1974 Robert Austrian, MD
    1973 Louis Weinstein, MD, PhD, MS
    1972 Theodore Woodward, MD



| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2015 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site