search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Maxwell Finland Lectureship 

    2015 Featured Lecturer

    Henry F. "Chip" Chambers, MD, FIDSA

    FinlandHenry F. “Chip” Chambers, MD, FIDSA, is professor of medicine at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), and director of clinical research services for the UCSF Clinical and Translational Science Institute. He served as chief of infectious diseases at San Francisco General Hospital from 1992 to 2013 and director of the UCSF Infectious Diseases Fellowship Training Program from 2002 to 2013. A graduate of Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he was class valedictorian, Dr. Chambers trained in internal medicine and infectious diseases at UCSF and was also a Kaiser Foundation fellow in general internal medicine at UCSF and a post-doctoral research fellow at Rockefeller University in New York City.

    Dr. Chamber’s clinical and research interests include antimicrobial drug resistance, staphylococcal infections, experimental therapeutics, and the epidemiology and pathogenesis of disease caused by community-acquired methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA). An editor for The Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy with over 200 original publications and textbook chapters in the areas of drug resistance, endocarditis, bacterial infections, and staphylococcal diseases, he is also an editor for Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy and a reviewer for numerous medical publications. He has been a member of advisory groups for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, a member of the IDSA treatment guideline committee for skin and soft tissue infections, and co-chaired the IDSA guideline committee for treatment of MRSA infections. Dr. Chambers currently chairs IDSA’s Antimicrobial Resistance Committee. He and Vance Fowler, MD, of Duke University, are co-principal investigators of the Antibacterial Resistance Leadership Group, a major effort supported by the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases to develop, implement, and manage a clinical research agenda to increase knowledge of antibacterial resistance. A fellow of IDSA and the American College of Physicians, Dr. Chambers has also been elected to membership in the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians.

    Past Maxwell Finland Award Lecturers 

    2014 Liise-Anne Pirofski, MD, FIDSA 
    2013 Victoria J. Fraser, MD
    2012 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
    2011     Julie Parsonnet, MD
    2010        Gerald Friedland, MD
    2009 Cynthia L. Sears, MD
    2008 Anthony Fauci, MD
    2007 Louis B. Rice, MD
    2006 W. Michael Scheld, MD
    2005 William Dismukes, MD
    2004 King Holmes, MD, PhD
    2003 Robert C. Moellering, Jr., MD
    2002 Jerome Klein, MD
    2001 Margaret Hostetter, MD
    2000 P. Frederick Sparling, MD
    1999 Frederick Southwick, MD
    1998 Elain Tuomanen, MD
    1997 Gerald Keusch, MD
    1996 Barbara Murray, MD
    1995 Theodore Eickhoff, MD
    1994 Carol Baker, MD
    1993 Stanley Falkow, PhD
    1992 John Bennett, MD
    1991 Michael Blaese, MD
    1990 Robert Gallo, MD
    1989 John Robbins, MD
    1988 Thomas Merigan, MD
    1987 R. Palmer Beasley, MD, MS
    1986 Alexander Langmuir, MD
    1985 Harry Dowling, MD
    1984 Albert Sabin, MD
    1983 Paul Quie, MD
    1982 Jack Remington, MD
    1981 Abraham Braude, MD, PhD
    1980 Maclyn McCarty, MD
    1979 Harry Feldman, MD
    1978 Dorothy Horstmann, MD
    1977 George Jackson, MD
    1976 Edward Kass, MD, PhD, MS
    1975 George Meiklejohn, MD
    1974 Robert Austrian, MD
    1973 Louis Weinstein, MD, PhD, MS
    1972 Theodore Woodward, MD


| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2016 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site