search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • IDSA
  • Paul Auwaerter, MD, MBA, FIDSA, Named IDSA President


    New Leadership Affirms Continuing Dedication to Improving Health

    The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) is pleased to announce Paul Auwaerter, MD, MBA, FIDSA, as the Society’s new president. Dr. Auwaerter will be joined by dedicated, experienced Board members as well as newly elected representatives who will advance IDSA’s commitment to improving the health of all people, communities, and society.

    “Infectious disease is an incredibly dynamic field with our expertise adding great value to the healthcare system. For many serious infections, ID consults lead to better patient outcomes and lower costs. Whenever there is a public health crisis, such as Ebola, influenza or antibiotic resistance, ID leads the response,” said Dr. Auwaerter. “IDSA has a superb track record of working on all these issues, and it is an honor to serve as the Society’s president.”

    Dr. Auwaerter will lead the Board’s work to promote IDSA’s strategic priorities that include:

    • Attracting the best and brightest to the field of infectious diseases
    • Promoting leadership that leads to improvements in antibiotic resistance and stewardship
    • Producing useful, timely and relevant guidelines for care of patients with infections
    • Stimulating ID and HIV research and its clinical translation
    • Advocating funding for prevention and public health programs in ID and HIV
    • Recognizing the value of the infectious diseases (ID) physician

    Paul Auwaerter, MD, MBA, FIDSA: Impassioned Researcher, Clinician, and Educator

    Currently, clinical director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and the Sherrilyn and Ken Fisher Professor of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Dr. Auwaerter is an academic clinician who enjoys educating fellows and patients alike. In his role as IDSA President, he will continue the Society’s work in advocating for new antimicrobial development, novel diagnostic tools and attracting the best and the brightest to the field of infectious diseases.

    Dr. Auwaerter has served on the National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIH/NIAID) Board of Scientific Counselors as well as the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) Anti-Infective Advisory Panel. His research interests include Lyme disease and other tick-borne diseases and clinical decision support using point-of-care information technology.

    New IDSA Board Members

    Dr. Auwaerter is pleased to be working with newly elected IDSA Board members including:

    • Thomas M. File, Jr., MD, MSc, FIDSA – Dr. File is passionate about inspiring the next generation of infectious disease practitioners. Chair of the Infectious Disease Division at Summa Health, Akron, Ohio, Dr. File is also Professor of Medicine, Master Teacher and Chair of the Infectious Disease Section at Northeast Ohio Medical University. His research interests include randomized clinical trials for safety and efficacy of new antimicrobials, community-acquired pneumonia and the impact of new diagnostics and antimicrobial stewardship on patient outcomes. Dr. File will serve as the board’s Vice President.
    • Victoria Fraser, MD, FIDSA – Physician-in-Chief and Attending Physician at Barnes-Jewish Hospital, St. Louis, Dr. Fraser is also the Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine and Chairman of the Department of Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis. She is committed to mentoring and career development for aspiring infectious disease clinicians and researchers, with a particular interest in the advancement of their scholarship and roles in society. Her research interests include prevention and control of hospital-acquired infections, care of underserved patients including those with HIV/AIDS, sexually-transmitted infections and substance abuse and mental health problems.
    • Susan J. Rehm, MD, FIDSA – Vice Chair, Department of Infectious Disease and Executive Director, Physician Health at Cleveland Clinic, Dr. Rehm is also a Professor of Medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Rehm is interested in creating a sustainable future for infectious disease physicians. Her research interests include endocarditis and infections of implanted cardiac devices, outpatient parenteral antibiotic therapy, new antibiotics, adult immunization and physician well-being.
    • Tina Q. Tan, MD, FIDSA, FPIDS, FAAP – Is a staunch advocate for the integration of pediatricians and internists in the field of infectious diseases. Dr. Tan is a Professor of Pediatrics at the Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University, Chicago; Medical Director of the International Patient Services Program and Infectious Diseases Attending, Medical Director of the International Adoptee Clinic as well as the Medical Co-Director of the Travel Medicine Clinic at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago. Her research interests include pertussis, pneumococcal epidemiology and vaccine, antibiotic resistance and vaccine education for healthcare providers.
    • Igho Ofotokun, MD, MSc, FIDSA – Serving as the HIV Medicine Association’s (HIVMA) representative to the IDSA board, Dr. Ofotokun is a Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine. He is also a Professor of Behavioral Science and Health Education at Rollin School of Public Health, Emory University and Staff Physician at Grady Healthcare System, Atlanta, Ga. Dr. Ofotokun’s career is centered on providing care for women living with HIV, clinical/translational research in HIV, and training the next generation of clinical and translational researchers. He is the Vice Chair of the ACTG Antiretoviral Therapy Strategies Scubcommittee, co-Director of the Emory KL2 program, the Program Director of the Emory BIRCWH, and the co-Director of the Emory CFAR Clinical Core. He is also a member of the FDA Antimicrobial Advisory Committee.

    In addition to Drs. Auwaerter and File, the IDSA Executive Committee includes: President-Elect Cindy Sears, MD, FIDSA, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore; Past President William Powderly, MD, FIDSA, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis; Treasurer Helen Boucher, MD, FIDSA, Tufts Medical Center, Boston and Secretary Larry Pickering, MD, FIDSA, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta.

    Members continuing their service on the Board include:

    • Henry “Chip” Chambers, MD, FIDSA, University of California, San Francisco
    • Thomas Moore, MD, FIDSA, IDC of Kansas, Wichita, Kan.
    • Trish Perl, MD, MSc, FIDSA, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
    • Dan McQuillen, MD, FIDSA, Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, Burlington, Mass.
    • Angela Caliendo, MD, PhD, FIDSA, Brown University, Providence, R.I.

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2018 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site