search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • The Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award 

    Current Winner

    RalphG. RALPH COREY, MD, FIDSA, a tireless mentor who has influenced the careers of hundreds of physicians, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2014 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award. Named to honor the memory of a former IDSA president who was renowned for nurturing the careers of others, this award recognizes individuals who have served as exemplary mentors, and who have been exceptional in guiding the professional growth of infectious disease professionals.

    Dr. Corey is vice-chair for education and global health; the Gary Hock Distinguished Professor of Global Health; and a professor of medicine and infectious diseases in the Department of Medicine at Duke University School of Medicine. For nearly 20 years, until 2002, Dr. Corey was program director of the internal medicine residency training program at Duke University Medical Center, where he created innovative training programs in clinical epidemiology and global health as well as combined programs in medicine/psychiatry and medicine/pediatrics. Now in his fourth decade of training physicians, he continues to teach and mentor housestaff, in addition to his ongoing research, clinical care, and global health work.

    His research has focused on large, multi-center clinical trials involving skin and skin structure infections, community- and hospital-acquired pneumonia, post-surgical infections, prosthetic joint infections, intra-abdominal infections, urinary tract infections, and bloodstream infections. His primary areas of interest include Staphylococcus aureus infections, infective endocarditis, and antibiotic-resistant Gram negative bacterial infections. Among his more than 230 peer-reviewed publications on these topics, it is telling that in more than 150 of them, one of Dr. Corey’s mentees was a first or last author, while Dr. Corey assumed a less visible authorship spot, providing more recognition of his junior colleagues.

    Dr. Corey co-founded the International Collaboration on Endocarditis, which has enrolled more than 5,000 patients from 61 sites in 30 countries over the past 14 years and has become the world’s most important and productive collaborative research group on endocarditis. In addition to committing himself to finding funding for the project, Dr. Corey ensured that all of the participating investigators, especially younger ones, would be recognized for their work. The group, which continues to enroll patients, has produced some 30 peer-reviewed publications in top-ranking journals so far. He also guided the initiation of the S. aureus Bacteremia Group, which has enrolled and followed more than 2,000 patients over 15 years. He is currently a co-leader of the group.

    Reflecting his longstanding interest in global health and tropical medicine, Dr. Corey started the International Health Program at Duke University Medical Center in 1985. More than 300 internal medicine residents have completed three-month rotations at international sites he established, providing transformational experiences that have influenced the career paths of many of these physicians. His commitment to global health was instrumental in obtaining endowed support for these efforts, culminating in 2004 with the creation of Duke’s Hubert–Yeargan Center for Global Health, of which he is the founding director. The center offers a medical center-wide fellowship in global health to foster careers in international health and basic science research.

    Dr. Corey graduated from Duke with a degree in physics, earned his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine in 1973 and completed an internship, residency, chief residency, and fellowship at Duke University Medical Center, where he joined the faculty in 1980. He has received numerous honors for his teaching and mentoring, including Duke’s Research Mentor Award in 2010. His mentees, including those who are now division chiefs, professors, associate professors, program directors, and industry leaders around the world, cite Dr. Corey as one of the most valuable and inspiring mentor in their careers. Many continue to rely on his guidance, counsel, friendship, and good humor, and consider him a role model for their own mentoring activities. For his passionate commitment to nurturing the careers of others and for guiding the professional growth of so many infectious disease professionals, IDSA is delighted to recognize Dr. Corey with the 2014 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award.

    Past Mentor Award Winners

    2013      Lucy Tompkins, MD, PhD
    2012 Robert A. Weinstein, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Jane E. Koehler, MA, MD
    William Schaffner, MD, FIDSA
    2010 Jack S. Remington, MD, FACP, FRCP, FIDSA 
    2009 Richard L. Guerrant, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Gerald Medoff, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Stanley Falkow, PhD, FIDSA
    Neal H. Steigbigel, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Kathryn Edwards, MD, FIDSA
    2005 Donald Kaye, MD
    2004 Gene H. Stollerman, MD
    2003 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
    2002 Leon G. Smith, MD
    2001     Martin S. Hirsch, MD


| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2015 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site