search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • 25 Institutions Receive the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Designation


    The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) announced today the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE) designation. The program, launched in 2017, recognizes institutions that have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases physicians and ID-trained pharmacists that are of the highest quality and have achieved standards established by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

    The institutions receiving the designation today are:

    Barnes-Jewish Hospital
    St. Louis, MO

    Children's Hospital of Wisconsin
    Milwaukee, WI

    Cleveland Clinic
    Cleveland, OH

    Denver Health Medical Center
    Denver, CO

    Hackensack University Medical Center
    Hackensack, NJ

    Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford
    Palo Alto, CA

    Montefiore Medical Center
    Bronx, NY

    Montefiore New Rochelle Hospital
    New Rochelle, NY

    New York Presbyterian Hospital - The University Hospital of Columbia and Cornell
    New York, NY

    Orlando Regional Medical Center
    Orlando, FL

    Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
    Hershey, PA

    Roper St. Francis Hospital
    Charleston, SC

    Rose Medical Center
    Denver, CO

    Rush University Medical Center
    Chicago, IL

    Saint Joseph Hospital
    Lexington, KY

    South Nassau Communities Hospital
    Oceanside, NY

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
    Memphis, TN

    Tufts Medical Center
    Boston, MA

    University of California, Los Angeles - UCLA Health
    Los Angeles, CA

    University Medical Center - New Orleans
    New Orleans, LA

    University Medical Center – Texas
    Lubbock, TX

    UPMC Presbyterian-Shadyside, Presbyterian Campus
    Pittsburgh, PA

    University of Wisconsin Hospital
    Madison, WI

    Virginia Commonwealth University Health
    Richmond, VA

    Womack Army Medical Center
    Ft. Bragg, NC

    “Each year, more than 700,000 people worldwide die due to antimicrobial resistant infections. Antimicrobial resistance is one of the greatest threats facing healthcare on a global, national and individual level. IDSA has had a longstanding commitment to fighting antimicrobial resistance through its research, education, training, and policy efforts. The Centers of Excellence program recognizes institutions that share our commitment by establishing antimicrobial stewardship programs that foster optimal therapies that protect patients from dangerous antimicrobial resistant infections while safeguarding our vulnerable drug supply. IDSA is proud to partner with each of these institutions in turning the tide against antimicrobial resistance,” said Paul Auwaerter, MD, MBA, FIDSA.

    The IDSA CoE program places emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols using its electronic health record system and providing ongoing education to its medical staff. A workgroup of infectious diseases physicians and ID-trained pharmacists developed the core criteria for the CoE program building upon the criteria detailed in the CDC’s Core Elements of Hospital Antibiotic Stewardship Programs.

    All health systems are welcome to apply for the IDSA CoE designation and can learn more about the criteria at

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2018 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site