search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Clinical Teacher Award

    Current Winner

    Michael BarzaMICHAEL J. BARZA, MD, FIDSA, an outstanding clinician and educator, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2017 Clinical Teacher Award. This award honors a career dedicated to teaching clinical infectious diseases to fellows, residents, and medical students and recognizes excellence as a clinician and motivation to teach the next generation of physicians.

    Currently vice chair for clinical affairs at Tufts Medical Center and the Sara Murray Jordan Professor of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston, Dr. Barza’s legendary teaching has been a major influence on scores of medical students, residents, and infectious disease fellows over the past 45 years. Equally adept at the podium and the bedside, his ability to synthesize difficult concepts and present them in an exceedingly clear manner is considered unparalleled. A superb clinician, he is well known for the breadth of his differential diagnosis, his clear thinking and assessment of a problem, the logic with which he comes to conclusions, and his ability to impart these traits to others.

    Dr. Barza’s many teaching honors and accomplishments speak to his substantial impact as an educator. Designated as an outstanding Tufts University School of Medicine lecturer from 2009 to 2014, he is the recipient of a Distinguished Faculty Award and the Zucker Clinical Teaching Prize for Outstanding Accomplishment. He has received citations for teaching excellence from Tufts University School of Medicine more than 20 times since 1974. Medical residents at New England Medical Center, where he served as associate chief of the Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Disease and as hospital epidemiologist, and at Carney Hospital in Boston, where he was chief of medicine, have also recognized him with best teacher awards on multiple occasions. In one telling example of Dr. Barza’s impact, after he become director of the internal medicine training program at Carney Hospital, the percentage of initial test takers passing their American Board of Internal Medicine examination rose from 70 percent to 100 percent over a four-year period. Among the more than 150 fellows who have benefited from his teaching over the years are many current division chiefs, deans, professors, and other accomplished leaders in the field, many of whom cite Dr. Barza’s example as a role model in their own careers.

    Dr. Barza received a medical degree from McGill University and completed an internship and residency at Royal Victoria Hospital, both in Montreal, Canada. He was then posted in Sarawak, Malaysia, for a year working under the auspices of Canadian philanthropic organization at a public hospital. Following a chief residency at Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Montreal, Dr. Barza completed a fellowship in infectious diseases at New England Medical Center. The author or coauthor of 225 original published articles, he is a recognized authority on pharmacokinetics, antimicrobial use, and infections of the eye. He has been named among America’s Best Doctors yearly since the mid-1990s. Dr. Barza has had a longstanding role in medical publication. He was the editor of Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy and associate editor of the Yearbook of Infectious Diseases, both for a decade. He served as the deputy editor of Clinical Infectious Diseases from 2000 to 2016, a period during which the journal’s reputation and influence grew impressively.

    Over more than four decades, Dr. Barza has significantly contributed to the training of countless medical students, residents, and ID fellows through his effective and engaging teaching and his renowned skills as a clinician. IDSA is pleased to add the 2017 Clinical Teacher Award to his impressive record of achievements.

    Past Clinical Teacher Award Winners

    2016 Rashida A. Khakoo, MD, MACP, FIDSA, FSHEA
    2015   Walter R. Wilson, MD, FIDSA
    2014   Nesli Basgov, MD, FIDSA
    2013 Marvin Turk, MD, FIDSA
    2012 Carol A. Kauffman, MD, FIDSA
    Sarah S. Long, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Vincent J. Quagliarello, MD, FIDSA 
    2010 Adolf W. Karchmer, MD, FIDSA
    2009 Joshua Fierer, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Larry M. Baddour, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Daniel M. Musher, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Hillar Vellend, MD, FIDSA
    2005 John Fisher, MD, FACP

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2018 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site