search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Clinical Teacher Award

    Current Winner

    WalterWALTER R. WILSON, MD, FIDSA, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2015 Clinical Teacher Award. This award honors a career dedicated to teaching clinical infectious diseases to fellows, residents, and medical students and recognizes excellence as a clinician and motivation to teach the next generation of physicians.
    An outstanding teacher with the ability to convey a true love for the study of infectious diseases while simultaneously sharing an enormous depth of knowledge in the field, Dr. Wilson has served as a member of the faculty for infectious diseases at the Mayo Medical School and the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine in Rochester, MN, for more than 30 years. He holds the Edward C. Rosenow Professorship in the Art of Medicine. Having served as chair of the Mayo Clinic’s Division of Infectious Diseases, he has mentored numerous infectious diseases fellows who now comprise the division and others who hold major leadership and academic positions in the United States and worldwide. Dr. Wilson continues to see patients every day on the teaching services at the Mayo Clinic, where he educates medical students, residents, fellows, and visiting clinicians and scientists with his unique, entertaining, and engaging style.

    Dr. Wilson has been recognized many times as an outstanding educator by peers, students, and residents at his institution. These honors include multiple Teacher of the Year awards, the Distinguished Faculty Service Award, and election to the Teacher’s Hall of Fame in the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine (which makes him ineligible for future annual teaching awards) and to the Department of Medicine’s Hall of Fame. He was the Internal Medicine Distinguished Lecturer in the Medical Sciences and was named Distinguished Mayo Educator—honors awarded to the most accomplished and respected educators at the Mayo Clinic. Also a skilled clinician, Dr. Wilson has received the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Clinician Award, the Henry S. Plummer Distinguished Physician Award, and the Mayo Alumni Henry
    S. Plummer Award for Excellence. He was elected a master of the American College of Physicians.

    An accomplished investigator who has focused primarily on cardiovascular infections, Dr. Wilson has published more than 300 peer-reviewed articles and other publications. A number of his published studies now are the basis for current recommendations for the management and prevention of cardiovascular infections and cardiovascular device infections. He is the lead or co-author of numerous American Heart Association (AHA), IDSA, and other major society scientific statements on the management of cardiovascular infections and infections involving implantable electronic cardiac devices. Dr. Wilson has served on AHA’s Committee on Infective Endocarditis, the Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young, and numerous other national and international society committees on cardiovascular infections.

    Dr. Wilson received his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston and completed a general medicine internship at Methodist and Ben Taubb Hospital in Houston. He completed his residency and fellowship training in internal medicine, infectious diseases, and microbiology at the Mayo Clinic, where he later joined the faculty.

    He is highly sought after as a visiting professor, invited lecturer, expert panelist, and course organizer. He has served on the American Board of Internal Medicine Subspecialty Board in Infectious Diseases and the Board of Trustees of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases. In addition to serving on a large number of committees at Mayo Clinic, including the Board of Governors and the Executive Committee, he has served on many national and international committees of IDSA, FDA, ACC, and others.

    Throughout his long career, Dr. Wilson has been an outstanding teacher, both at the bedside and the chalkboard, and a skilled clinician and researcher with a strong dedication to educating the next generation of infectious diseases specialists. IDSA is pleased to add the 2015 Clinical Teacher Award to his impressive list of achievements.

    Past Clinical Teacher Award Winners

    2014 Nesli Basgov, MD, FIDSA
    2013 Marvin Turk, MD, FIDSA
    2012 Carol A. Kauffman, MD, FIDSA
    Sarah S. Long, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Vincent J. Quagliarello, MD, FIDSA 
    2010 Adolf W. Karchmer, MD, FIDSA
    2009 Joshua Fierer, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Larry M. Baddour, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Daniel M. Musher, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Hillar Vellend, MD, FIDSA
    2005 John Fisher, MD, FACP

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2016 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site