search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • The Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award 

    Current Winner

    Stephen CalderwoodSTEPHEN B. CALDERWOOD , MD, FIDSA, an exceptional clinician, teacher, and researcher, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2017 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award. Named to honor the memory of a former IDSA president who was renowned for nurturing the careers of others, this award recognizes individuals who have served as exemplary mentors and who have been exceptional in guiding the professional growth of infectious disease professionals.

    Chief of the Infectious Diseases Division at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston for the past 27 years, Dr. Calderwood is also the Morton N. Swartz, MD, Academy Professor of Medicine and director of undergraduate medical education at Massachusetts General Hospital. Despite his multiple positions and numerous leadership roles locally, nationally, and internationally, Dr. Calderwood’s commitment to the professional development of others over the course of their careers has been unrelenting and far reaching. He has impacted the lives and careers of numerous students, residents, fellows, and faculty, from the junior to the senior level, through his ongoing dedication to mentorship over many years.

    Within his clinical division, Dr. Calderwood has created a culture that encourages mentorship and serves as a model for other institutions. He has made the career development of others a central goal of his collaborative research activities, encouraging his mentees to develop into independent physician-scientists and mentors themselves. A committed advocate for the appointment and advancement of women faculty, he is considered a role model for how to be an effective and inclusive leader. Many former trainees cite his influence in their own mentoring activities, extending his impact even further. He has received multiple awards in recognition of his mentoring, including the William Silen Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School, the John T. Potts Jr., MD, Faculty Mentoring Award from Massachusetts General Hospital, the Partners Medical Education Outstanding Mentoring Award from Partners Healthcare, and the Joseph B. Martin Dean’s Leadership Award for the Advancement of Women from Harvard Medical School.

    Dr. Calderwood’s research interests, demonstrated through his more than 200 peer-reviewed publications, focus on immune responses to enteric infections, microbial pathogenesis, microbial-host interactions, regulation of gene expression in the human host, and vaccine development for cholera. His laboratory has ongoing collaborations with the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research in Dhaka, Bangladesh, focused on cholera and typhoid fever. President of IDSA from 2014 to 2015 and a former member of the Society’s Board of Directors, his service to IDSA has included multiple committees, among them the ID Training Program Directors Committee, the Education Committee, the Research Committee, and the IDWeek Program Committee.

    A fellow of the American College of Physicians, the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, the American Academy of Microbiology, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a member of the Association of American Physicians, Dr. Calderwood received his medical degree from Harvard Medical School. He completed internship, residency, chief residency, and clinical and research fellowships in infectious diseases at Massachusetts General and Harvard Medical School, where he joined the faculty in 1981.

    Recognized for his exceptional dedication to the professional development of others, in addition to his skills as a clinician and a researcher, Dr. Calderwood is considered a mentor without parallel by those he has guided and counseled. IDSA is delighted to recognize him with the 2017 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award.

    Past Mentor Award Winners

    2016 Steve M. Holland, MD
    2015 David R. Snydman, MD, FIDSA
    2014 G. Ralph Corey, MD, FIDSA
    2013      Lucy Tompkins, MD, PhD
    2012 Robert A. Weinstein, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Jane E. Koehler, MA, MD and William Schaffner, MD, FIDSA
    2010 Jack S. Remington, MD, FACP, FRCP, FIDSA 
    2009 Richard L. Guerrant, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Gerald Medoff, MD, FIDSA
    2007 Stanley Falkow, PhD, FIDSA and Neal H. Steigbigel, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Kathryn Edwards, MD, FIDSA
    2005 Donald Kaye, MD
    2004 Gene H. Stollerman, MD
    2003 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
    2002 Leon G. Smith, MD
    2001     Martin S. Hirsch, MD

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2018 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site