search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • The Watanakunakorn Clinician Award

    Current Winner

    WMasonDOUGLAS R. OSMON, MD, MPH, FIDSA, whose passion for clinical care has greatly advanced the treatment of musculoskeletal infections, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2017 Watanakunakorn Clinician Award. Named to honor the memory of Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, this award is presented by the IDSA Education and Research Foundation to recognize an IDSA member or fellow for outstanding achievement in the clinical practice of infectious diseases.

    On staff at the Mayo Clinic since 1992 and a professor of medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science in Rochester, Minnesota, Dr. Osmon has been instrumental in improving the care of patients with musculoskeletal infections throughout his career, spanning nearly three decades. A superb, meticulous, compassionate clinician who spends more than 50 percent of his time in the clinical practice of ID, his strong patient advocacy has earned the admiration of patients, colleagues, and peers at other institutions. The Orthopedic Infectious Diseases Practice he developed and leads at Mayo as chair, which recognizes the necessary link between ID and surgical specialists in caring for patients with orthopedic infections, has set the bar for many other institutions.

    Dr. Osmon has been integral in advancing patient care through clinical research. His more than 130 peer-reviewed publications include investigations of the diagnosis of chronic periprosthetic infection, prospective and retrospective studies of optimal management strategies for prosthetic joint infection, and research clarifying the role of dental prophylaxis for patients with arthroplasties. Internationally recognized in this field, he was the lead author of IDSA’s clinical practice guidelines for prosthetic joint infection and also helped author the Society’s vertebral osteomyelitis guidelines, further extending his impact on the care of patients with these infections.

    An active member and past president of the Musculoskeletal Infection Society, Dr. Osmon has received numerous clinical research awards from the organization and in 2016 was inducted into its Hall of Fame. A fellow of the American College of Physicians and a sought-after speaker at national and international meetings, he received his medical degree from the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine at Mayo Medical School, followed by an internship, residency, and infectious diseases fellowship at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. He also earned a master of public health degree from the University of Minnesota School of Public Health.

    In 1992, Dr. Osmon joined the Mayo faculty, where, as a mentor, he has attracted many medical students, residents, fellows, and visiting faculty to train in the management and treatment of orthopedic infections. He has participated in and led several Mayo committees, teams, and task forces, including the Computer-Based Antimicrobial Monitoring Program, for which he served as director.

    Modest and quick to credit others for his achievements, Dr. Osmon is a consummate clinician, clinical researcher, advocate, colleague, and mentor who has greatly advanced the care of patients with musculoskeletal infections at his institution and around the world. The Society is proud to recognize him with the 2017 Watanakunakorn Award.

    Past Winners of the Watanakunakorn Clinician Award 

    2016 Wilbert H. Mason, MD, MPH, FIDSA
    2015     James Horton, MD, FIDSA
    2014      Eliot W. Godofsky, MD
    2013      Johan S. Bakken, MD, PhD and Thomas M. File, Jr., MD, MSc
    2012 David N. Gilbert, MD, FIDSA
    2011 Stan Deresinski, MD, FIDSA
    2010     Marvin J. Tenenbaum, MD, FIDSA
    2009 Lawrence J. Eron, MD, FIDSA
    2008 Michael L. Butera, MD
    2007 Timothy T. Kuberski, MD, FIDSA
    2006 Barbara H. Wade, MD, FIDSA
    2005 James S. Tan, MD
    2004 Donald M. Poretz, MD
    2003 Steven Jon Berman, MD, FACP and Richard N. Olans, MD
    2002 William A. Agger, MD
    2001 H. Gunner Deery, MD and Peter T. Frame, MD
    2000 Martin C. McHenry, MD, MS and Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, MD
    1999 Gonzalo Ballon-Landa, MD and Thomas G. Slama, MD
    1998 David S. McKinsey, MD and Daniel J. Sexton, MD
    1997 Ramon E. Moncada, MD
    1996 George Atkinson, MD Pankey, MD and Alan D. Tice, MD
    1995 Ellie J.C. Goldstein, MD
    1994 George Thornton, MD
    1993 Edward Septimus, MD


| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2018 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site