Skip to nav Skip to content

Edward H. Kass Lectureship

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2020 Featured Lecturer

Adaora A. Adimora, MD, MPHAdaora A. Adimora, M.D., MPH, FIDSA is a Sarah Graham Kenan Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and Professor of Epidemiology at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.  

She earned her undergraduate degree from Cornell and her M.D. from the Yale School of Medicine. Her Internal Medicine residency at Boston City Hospital was followed by a fellowship in Infectious Diseases at Montefiore/Einstein. After fellowship she worked at Harlem Hospital in the ID Division until she moved to NC, where she was Associate Chief for Science in the NC state health department’s Communicable Disease Control Branch before joining the University of North Carolina School of Medicine’s faculty in the Division of Infectious Diseases. 

Her research focuses on the epidemiology of HIV and STDs among minority populations.  She has led a variety of studies, including community-based studies, clinical research, secondary analyses of large databases, and a population-based case-control study of risk factors for heterosexual HIV transmission among African Americans. Her work has demonstrated the importance of sexual network patterns and critical contextual factors, such as poverty and racism in establishing and maintain racial inequities in rates of HIV and other sexually transmitted infections in the United States.  

She is Principal Investigator of the UNC site of the Multicenter AIDS Cohort Study-Women’s Interagency HIV Study Combined Cohort Study (MACS/WIHS CCS). She has served as Chair of the HIV Medicine Association and also served on the NIAID Advisory Council, the Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS, the DHHS Antiretroviral Guidelines Panel, and the International AIDS Society’s Governing Council. She has testified to the US Congress about drug pricing and about incarceration’s role in the epidemiology of HIV among Black Americans. In 2019 she was elected to the National Academy of Medicine. 


Past Edward Kass Lecturers 

2019 Henry L. DuPont, M.D., FIDSA
2018 Henry Masur, M.D., FIDSA
2017 James M. Hughes, M.D., FIDSA
2016 John R. Perfect, M.D., FIDSA
2015 Karen C. Carroll, M.D., FIDSA
2014 Janet Gilsdorf, M.D., FIDSA, FPIDS  
2013 Peter Hotez, M.D., Ph.D.
2012 Elaine L. Larson, Ph.D., RN, FIDSA
2011 Larry Pickering, M.D.
2010 Richard Wenzel, M.D., MPH
2009 Paul A. Volberding, M.D., FIDSA
2008 Arturo Casadevall, M.D.
2007 David Relman, M.D., FIDSA
2006 Wafaa El-Sadr, M.D., FIDSA
2005 Constance A. Benson, M.D., FIDSA
2004 Lucy Tompkins, M.D., Ph.D., FIDSA
2003 Seymour J. Klebanoff, M.D., Ph.D.
2002 Stanley A. Plotkin, M.D., FIDSA
2001 John G. Bartlett, M.D., FIDSA
2000 Walter Stamm, M.D.
1999 Sharon Hillier, Ph.D.
1998 Martin Blaser, M.D., FIDSA
1997 Judith Wasserheit, M.D., FIDSA
1996 Charles S. Bryan, M.D.
1995 Alfred Evans, M.D.
1994 Jay Sanford, M.D.
1993 Floyd Denny, M.D.
1992 Allan Brandt
1991 Theodore Woodward, M.D.


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.