Skip to nav Skip to content

Joseph E. Smadel

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2020 Featured Lecturer

Upinder Singh, MD FIDSAUpinder Singh, M.D., FIDSA is professor of medicine and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine at Stanford University, where she is also professor of microbiology and immunology. 

Dr. Singh studies the molecular basis of the pathogenesis of Entamoeba histolytica. Her work is aimed at understanding the virulence determinants that this medically important parasite utilizes in causing invasive colonic and hepatic disease. Using a combination of genetic and genomic approaches, Dr. Singh’s lab is identifying novel mechanisms that the parasite has developed for invading the human host. Her lab also studies the epidemiological trends of amebic infection, with the goal of identifying a parasite molecular signature that correlates with invasive potential. 

After earning her medical degree from Ohio State University, Dr. Singh completed her internship, residency, and fellowship training at the University of Virginia Health System and the University of Virginia School of Medicine. 


Past Joseph E. Smadel Lectureship Winners

2019 Gail Bolan, M.D.
2018 Monica Farley, M.D., FIDSA
2017 Ruth Lynfield, M.D., FIDSA
2016 Patricia Griffin, M.D., FIDSA
2015 Bruno Moonen* (In Honor of Alan Magil)
2014 Robert A. Weinstein, M.D., FIDSA, FSHEA
2013 Myron S. Cohen, M.D., FIDSA
2012 Diane Havlir, M.D., FIDSA
2011 William Schaffner, M.D., FIDSA
2010 Kathleen M. Neuzil, M.D., MPH, FIDSA
2009 Myron Levine, M.D., FIDSA
2008 Jane E. Koehler, M.A., M.D.
2007 Kathryn M. Edwards, M.D., FIDSA
2006 Allan R. Roland, M.D.
2005 Lyle Petersen, M.D., MPH
2004 Eric Ottesen, M.D.
2003 Didier Raoult, M.D., Ph.D., FIDSA
2002 Donald A. Henderson, M.D.
2001 Karl Johnson, M.D.
2000 Anna Schuchat, M.D., FIDSA
1999 Lou Miller, M.D.
1998 Thomas Wellems, M.D., Ph.D.
1997 Brett Finlay, Ph.D.
1996 Scott B. Halstead, M.D., FIDSA
1995 David T. Dennis, M.D., MPH
1994 Roy Anderson, FRS
1993 Richard Guerrant, M.D.
1992 Alfred Sommer, M.D.
1991 Charles Carpenter, M.D.
1990 Zanvil Cohn, M.D.
1989 Thomas Grayston, M.D.
1988 P. Fredrick Sparling, M.D., FIDSA
1987 Jack M. Gwaltney, M.D.
1986 Richard Johnson, M.D.
1985 Franklin Neva, M.D.
1984 Maurice Hilleman, Ph.D.
1983 Garrison Rapmund, M.D.
1982 Richard Hornick, M.D.
1981 Baruj Benacerraf, M.D.
1980 Robert Chanock, M.D.
1979 Philip Russell, M.D.
1978 Philip Paterson, M.D.
1977 Carleton Gajdusek, M.D.


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.