Skip to nav Skip to content

Maxwell Finland Lectureship

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2021 Featured Lecturer

Eric G. Pamer, MD, FIDSA

Eric G. Pamer, MD, FIDSA received his MD degree from Case Western Reserve University Medical School and completed clinical training in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases at UCSD Medical Center. He was a postdoctoral fellow with Charles E. Davis at UCSD, Maggie So at Scripps Research Institute and Michael Bevan at the University of Washington and then moved to Yale University and established a laboratory focusing on immune responses to microbial infection. In 2000 he moved his laboratory to Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York where he was the Chief of Infectious Diseases, Head of the Division of Subspecialty Medicine and Director of the Center for Microbes, Inflammation and Cancer, which focused on the role of the microbiome in the treatment of cancer. In 2019 Dr. Pamer moved to the University of Chicago to become the Director of the Duchossois Family Institute. Dr. Pamer’s research focuses on the impact of the intestinal microbiota on resistance to Vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus faecium, Clostridium difficile and Klebsiella pneumoniae infections in patients receiving cancer treatment, with a specific focus on highly immunocompromised patients. The Pamer laboratory also investigates the role of inflammatory monocytes in defense against infection and the interaction between intestinal microbes and the mammalian immune system.




Past Maxwell Finland Award Lecturers 

2020 Vance G. Fowler, Jr., M.D., MHS, FIDSA
2019 Robin Patel, M.D., FIDSA
2018 Arjun Srinivasan, M.D., FSHEA
2017 Steven Holland, M.D., FIDSA
2016 Robert C. Read, M.D., FIDSA
2015 Henry F. "Chip", M.D., FIDSA
2014 Liise-Anne Pirofski, M.D., FIDSA
2013 Victoria J. Fraser, M.D., FIDSA
2012 George H. McCracken, Jr., M.D., FIDSA
2011     Julie Parsonnet, M.D., FIDSA
2010        Gerald Friedland, M.D
2009 Cynthia L. Sears, M.D., FIDSA
2008 Anthony Fauci, M.D., FIDSA
2007 Louis B. Rice, M.D., FIDSA
2006 W. Michael Scheld, M.D., FIDSA
2005 William Dismukes, M.D.
2004 King Holmes, M.D., Ph.D., FIDSA
2003 Robert C. Moellering, Jr., M.D.
2002 Jerome Klein, M.D.
2001 Margaret Hostetter, M.D.
2000 P. Frederick Sparling, M.D., FIDSA
1999 Frederick Southwick, M.D., FIDSA
1998 Elain Tuomanen, M.D.
1997 Gerald Keusch, M.D.
1996 Barbara Murray, M.D., FIDSA
1995 Theodore Eickhoff, M.D.
1994 Carol Baker, M.D., FIDSA
1993 Stanley Falkow, Ph.D.
1992 John Bennett, M.D., FIDSA
1991 Michael Blaese, M.D.
1990 Robert Gallo, M.D.
1989 John Robbins, M.D.
1988 Thomas Merigan, M.D.
1987 R. Palmer Beasley, M.D., M.S.
1986 Alexander Langmuir, M.D.
1985 Harry Dowling, M.D.
1984 Albert Sabin, M.D.
1983 Paul Quie, M.D., FIDSA
1982 Jack Remington, M.D., FIDSA
1981 Abraham Braude, M.D., Ph.D.
1980 Maclyn McCarty, M.D.
1979 Harry Feldman, M.D.
1978 Dorothy Horstmann, M.D.
1977 George Jackson, M.D., FIDSA
1976 Edward Kass, M.D., Ph.D., M.S.
1975 George Meiklejohn, M.D.
1974 Robert Austrian, M.D.
1973 Louis Weinstein, M.D., Ph.D., M.S.
1972 Theodore Woodward, M.D.


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.