Skip to nav Skip to content

Nominate a Colleague for a Society Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

Help us celebrate the field of ID by nominating hard working clinicians, promising young researchers, outstanding mentors, and those who have had a lifetime of impact on the field.

Nominations for the awards will be reviewed by the Society Awards Committee and a final recommendation for each award will be made to the IDSA Board of Directors for approval.

Awardees will be celebrated during a virtual gala event on September 30, 2021.

Nomination Requirements

  • A nomination form— You may fill out a nomination form online, or download a copy.
  • Seminal Contribution— A statement by the Primary Nominator summarizing the nominee's seminal contribution(s) (max length: 100 words).
  • General Statement— A statement by the Primary Nominator describing the quality and impact of the nominee's work (max length: 250 words).
  • Statement of Support— A statement by the Seconding Nominator (max length: 250 words).
  • Curriculum Vitae— A current copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.
  • NIH Biosketch— Required for the Oswald Avery and Alexander Fleming Award, optional for all other awards.

Eligibility for Nomination

  • Award nominees and nominators must be active members of IDSA in good standing. Members currently serving on the IDSA Board of Directors or the IDSA Society Awards Committee are not eligible to be nominated.
  • Past Alexander Fleming Award Winners are not eligible to receive other Society Awards.
  • Individuals who have previously won a particular award are not eligible to win that award again. They may, however, be nominated for a different award. View past awards winners here.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted.

Notification of Award

  • Nominations are due by Friday, August 13, 2021.
  • Awards will be presented during a virtual gala event on September 30th.
  • Awardees receive an award plaque and a $1,500 honorarium.
  • Awardees will be featured in the IDSA website, IDSA News, and IDSA podcast series.


Available Society Awards 

Alexander Fleming Award

The Alexander Fleming Award for lifetime achievement is granted to an IDSA member or fellow in recognition of a career that reflects major contributions to the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge about infectious diseases.

Read More and See All Alexander Fleming Award Winners

D.A. Henderson Award

New in 2017, The D.A. Henderson Award for Outstanding contributions to Public Health will recognize a lifetime of achievement in public health. Dr. Henderson’s role in leading the successful eradication of smallpox will stand forever as a shining example of the profound impact that infectious disease physicians and scientists can have in preventing disease and relieving human suffering. By naming this award in his honor we hope to inspire others to become champions for public health throughout the world.

Read More and See All D.A. Henderson Award Winners

Watanakunakorn Clinician Award

Named to honor the memory of Dr. Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, this award is given annually by the IDSA Education and Research Foundation to an IDSA member of fellow in recognition of outstanding achievement in the clinical practice of infectious diseases.

Read More and See All Watanakunakorn Clinician Award Winners

Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award

Named to honor the late past-president Walter E. Stamm, MD, FIDSA, this award was created to recognize individuals who have served as exemplary mentors and is presented to an IDSA member or fellow who has been exceptional in guiding professional growth of infectious diseases professionals.

Read More and See all Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award Winners

Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement

The Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement recognizes outstanding achievement in an area of infectious diseases by an individual member or fellow of IDSA who is 45 or younger (on December 31 of the year preceding the IDWeek at which the award is given). The award is based on overall achievement, not usually a single study.

Read More and See all Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement Winners

Clinical Practice Innovation Award

The Clinical Practice Innovation Award will be awarded to members who devote the majority of their time to patient care and who have significantly advanced the clinical practice of infectious diseases within the last five years. This may be accomplished through innovation in clinical practice design or management, or advocacy on the behalf of IDSA that fosters change to better recognize the value of infectious diseases practice.

Read More and See All Clinical Practice Innovation Award Winner

Society Citation Award

The Society Citation is a discretionary award given in recognition of exemplary contribution to IDSA, and outstanding discovery in the field of infectious diseases, or a lifetime of outstanding achievement. More than one award may be given each year.

Read More and See all Society Citation Award Winners

Clinical Teacher Award

The Clinical Teacher Award honors a career involved in teaching clinical infectious diseases to fellows, residents, or medical students and recognizes excellence as a clinician and motivation to teach the next generation.

Read More and See all Clinical Teacher Award Winners

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.