search icon
  • Print
  • ShareThis
  • Text Size
  • Antimicrobial Stewardship

    AS CoE logo

    Centers of Excellence


  • IDSA announced the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE) Designation

    IDSA congratulates 25 institutions receiving the CoE designation. Read the press release here. 

  • Our Vision

    IDSA developed the Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Program to promote excellence in optimizing antimicrobial use and combating antimicrobial resistance (AMR) by identifying institutions that effectively demonstrate these activities.  The IDSA AS Centers of Excellence program aligns with evidence-based national guidelines such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and CDC's Core Elements.

  • The Importance of Antimicrobial Stewardship

    • Each year, more than 700,000 individuals die due to antimicrobial resistance (AMR) infections.
    • IDSA has promoted antimicrobial stewardship (AS) as an avenue to combat AMR for many years.
    • The CDC and the Joint Commission have set standards for hospitals to have antimicrobial stewardship programs (ASPs) in place.
    • IDSA values recognizing those institutions with comprehensive ASPs in place, which can further guide other hospitals.

  • What is the Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Program?

    IDSA has created a program to designate Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE) across the U.S. health care system. The IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Program builds upon the criteria set forth in the CDC Core Elements with additional aspects of meaningful differentiation.  The Core Criteria for the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence were developed by a work-group of ID physicians and ID-trained pharmacists.

  • How to Apply for a Centers of Excellence Designation

    Step One:

    Review the CDC Core Elements and IDSA's Core Criteria to ensure your organization meets all of the program eligibility requirements. Please download IDSA's Core Criteria and Application Requirements for reference.

    Step 2:

    Verify your organization’s use of Electronic Health Record (EHR) and/or Clinical Decision Support System (CDSS) as an integral component of the CoE.

    Step 3:

    If you feel you can attest and compile supporting documentation that applies to the Core Criteria, please email IDSA CoE staff. Upon receipt, you will be contacted by a CoE representative.

    Step 4:

    Collect all supporting documents, review and edit documents if needed.

    Final Step:

    Complete a brief application and upload supporting documentsApplications must be submitted by an active IDSA member. 

    2019 Cycle 1 Application Deadline: January 31, 2019 

    The IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program is intended to recognize health care facilities that implement and maintain highly effective ASPs. IDSA recognizes that many institutions are part of health systems; however, the IDSA AS CoE Core Criteria was developed to assess the resources and capabilities of a single institution. The IDSA AS CoE designation will not apply to an entity that provides services that support, in whole or in part, the AS program of an institution. 

    For additional information, please email

| HIVMA | Contact Us

© Copyright IDSA 2018 Infectious Diseases Society of America

Full Site Mobile Site