Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

Maintenance of Certification

The Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program of the American Board of Internal Medicine promotes continuous learning and improvement of one’s clinical judgment, in an effort to improve patient care. IDSA and HIVMA support this goal and offer six online MOC modules. Participants can earn 10-15 points toward the requirements for self-evaluation of medical knowledge for each module completed and a maximum of 10.0-15.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™ per module. MOC modules are reviewed and updated annually, as needed.

IDSA and HIVMA MOC modules available:

  • Adult Vaccines 2015: Expires December 2019
  • General Infectious Diseases 2018: Expires October 2021
  • Hepatitis C 2015: Expires December 2019 - free to IDSA members
  • HIV Medicine in Clinical Practice: Expires December 2019
  • Infection Control: Expires October 2020 - designated as an ABIM Patient Safety activity
  • Travel and Tropical Medicine: Expires December 2019

Purchase a Module

IDSA and HIV MOC modules are currently unavailable for purchase until the new LMS launches in July 2019.  


ABIM's MOC Requirements:  

  • Every 10 years: Board Exam
  • Every 5 years: 100 MOC points
  • Every 2 years: Some MOC activity    
New! Knowledge Check-in Dates for ID: 

ABIM Assessment 2020 Report

Infectious Diseases Society of America 2020 Assessment Feedback to ABIM (PDF)

Infectious Diseases Society of America's Position Statement on MOC Requirements (PDF)

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.