Skip to nav Skip to content

Mayo Clinic

College of Medicine

Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education
5777 East Mayo Boulevard

Phoenix, AZ 85054

Phone: 480 342 2205
Fax: 480 342 0689

Training Program Director

Mayo Clinic Holenarasipur (HR) R. Vikram MD Associate Professor of Medicine; Vice Chair, Division of Infectious Diseases

Research Interests: Infective Endocarditis, Cardiac Device Infections, Coccidioidomycosis, Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts

Participating Hospitals


Program Training Offerings

How does this program meet the ABIM requirements for training in clinical microbiology?

Didactic Lectures

The Program provides training in hospital epidemiology through:

Didactic LecturesContinuity Clinic

The Program provides clinical experience for fellows in the following:

Infections in marrow transplantInfections in solid organ transplant patientsInfections in travelers and tropical medicineInfections in childrenContinuity clinic for HIV+ patientsFungal infections, diagnostics, therapeuticsInfections in HIV/AIDS, including opportunisticSexually transmitted diseasesViral Infections (non-HIV), including HSV, CMV, VZ

This Program provides training in STD management through:

Didactic Lectures

The Program has a didactic lecture course for fellows:


If yes, what is the average number of lectures provided over a two-year period?


Training is for:


Are there citizenship requirements?


Citizenship Requirements:

Types of visas accepted:

J1 –H1-B

Number of fellows accepted each year:


Duration of the Fellowship (years):


The Program has a training grant (T32):


Average number of infectious diseases consults per trainee per year:


Number of Fellows completing the Program in the last 5 years:

None (New Program as of 2015)

Additional Training/Faculty Resources (optional):

Applications accepted via Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS®)?


Timeframe when applications are accepted:

Per ERAS specified timeframe

Timeframe when interviews are done


Robert Orenstein DO, Assoc. Prof.

Robert Orenstein


Janis E. Blair MD

Janis E. Blair

Shimon Kusne MD

Shimon Kusne

Roberto L. Patron MD

Roberto L. Patron

M. Teresa Seville MD

M. Teresa Seville

Thomas E. Grys PhD

Thomas E. Grys

Ann Khalsa MD

Ann Khalsa

Renuka Khurana MD

Renuka Khurana

Scott Ostdiek MD

Scott Ostdiek

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.