Skip to nav Skip to content

Antimicrobial Stewardship
Centers of Excellence

Our Vision

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers for Excellence (CoE) Program promotes excellence in antimicrobial use and combating antimicrobial resistance by recognizing hospitals that effectively demonstrate excellence in this work. Possessing a CoE designation signifies a hospital has the policies and processes in place to deliver high-quality stewardship services consistently, execute novel stewardship principles, and demonstrate a high-level commitment to improving antimicrobial use and reducing resistance.

Stewardship Programs

The Centers of Excellence designation program aligns with evidence-based national guidelines such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and CDC's Core Elements of Hospital Antibiotic Stewardship Programs.

A total of 177 hospitals have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017, including the United Arab Emirates and India. See the full list of CoE-designated hospitals.


View Full List of Hospitals

How to Apply for a Centers of Excellence Designation

Step One:

Review the CDC Core Elements to ensure your hospital meets the program eligibility requirements.

Step Two:

Verify your hospital's enrollment and reporting to the National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) Antimicrobial Use and Resistance (AUR).

Step Three:

If your hospital meets the program criteria, submit an electronic application using the “Apply Now” button below.

Final Step:

Hospitals awarded the Centers of Excellence program designation will incur a $5,000 license fee for the 2-year designation.

Apply Today    Learn More →

Applications must be submitted by an active IDSA member.

The Importance of Antimicrobial Stewardship

  • Each year, more than 700,000 individuals die due to antimicrobial resistance (AMR) infections.
  • IDSA has promoted antimicrobial stewardship (AS) as an avenue to combat AMR for many years.
  • The CDC and the Joint Commission have set standards for hospitals to have antimicrobial stewardship programs (ASPs) in place.
  • IDSA values recognizing those institutions with comprehensive ASPs in place, which can further guide other hospitals.



Next application deadline:
 Cycle 1: January 31, 2025 | Cycle 2: July 1, 2025

The IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program is intended to recognize hospitals that implement and maintain highly effective ASPs. IDSA acknowledges that many hospitals are part of health systems; however, the CoE Core Criteria was developed to assess the resources and capabilities of a single hospital. The CoE designation will not apply to an entity that provides services that support, in whole or in part, the AS program of a hospital; therefore, each hospital is required to apply on an individual hospital basis and subject to separate licensing fees. 

Email Us



This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.