Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email






Twenty-three Institutions Receive the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Designation


“While the world’s attention is rightfully focused on fighting the COVID-19 pandemic, drug resistant infections continue. One of IDSA’s top priorities is fighting antimicrobial resistance through research, education, training and policy initiatives. Our Centers of Excellence program honors institutions that have demonstrated leadership in that fight. Each of them serves a critical role in ensuring that we protect the tools we have against resistant infections, setting a high standard for others to follow,” said IDSA President Thomas M. File, Jr., M.D., FIDSA.

The core criteria for the CoE program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols by integrating best practices to slow the emergence of resistance, optimize the treatment of infections, and reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use and other challenging areas related to antimicrobial stewardship. A panel of IDSA member experts in antimicrobial stewardship, including ID-trained physicians and ID-trained pharmacists, evaluate CoE applications against high-level criteria established for determining merit, developed by IDSA leadership. The institutions recently awarded the CoE designation are:

Audie L. Murphy VA Medical Center
San Antonio, TX

Baptist Medical Center South
Montgomery, AL

Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center
Houston, TX

Boston Children’s Hospital
Boston, MA

Children's of Alabama Hospital
Birmingham, AL

Connecticut Children’s Hospital
Hartford, CT

Cooper University Health Care
Camden, NJ

Good Samaritan Hospital Medical Center
West Islip, NY

Henry Ford Hospital
Detroit, MI

Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Medical Center
Clackamas, OR

Long Island Jewish Valley Stream
Valley Stream, NY

Mayo Clinic Health System – Eau Claire
Eau Claire, WI

Medical City Frisco
Frisco, TX

Melrose Wakefield Hospital
Melrose, MA

Mercy Health Muskegon
Muskegon, MI

Mount Sinai Beth Israel
New York, NY

Naval Medical Center San Diego
San Diego, CA

North Shore University Hospital
Manhasset, NY

Northwest Medical Center
Tucson, AZ

OhioHealth Doctors Hospital
Columbus, OH

OhioHealth Grant Medical Center
Columbus, OH

OhioHealth Mansfield
Mansfiled, OH

OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital
Columbus, OH

Saint Agnes Medical Center
Fresno, CA

Saint Anthony Hospital
Chicago, IL

Saratoga Hospital
Saratoga Springs, NY

Seattle Children's Hospital
Seattle, WA

St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Edgewood, KY

St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, MI

UAB Hospital
Birmingham, AL

University Hospital
San Antonio, TX

To learn more about the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program and see a complete list of the institutions that have received the CoE designation, visit

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.