Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

IDSA Congratulates 23 Institutions on Receiving IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Designation


IDSA has awarded 23 institutions the designation of Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE). The CoE program recognizes institutions that have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases physicians and ID-trained pharmacists that are of the highest quality and have achieved standards aligned with evidence-based national guidelines such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Core Elements. A total of 64 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

“Antimicrobial resistance is one of the greatest threats facing healthcare on a global, national and individual level. In fact, antibiotic-resistant infections are the third leading cause of death in this country. IDSA is fighting antimicrobial resistance on every front, including research, education, training, and through our policy efforts. We are proud to partner with each of the institutions that have received the Centers of Excellence designation in turning the tide against antimicrobial resistance,” said IDSA President Cynthia Sears, MD, FIDSA.

The core criteria for the CoE program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols to optimize the treatment of infections and reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use by leveraging electronic health record systems and providing ongoing education to help clinicians improve the quality of patient care and promote patient safety. A panel of esteemed IDSA member leaders evaluate CoE applications against core criteria to make recommendations for the designation. The panel is comprised of five ID-trained physicians and three ID-trained pharmacists with many years of expert stewardship experience.

To learn more about the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program, visit

Congratulations to the 23 institutions recently awarded the CoE designation:

Allegheny General Hospital
Pittsburgh, PA

Brooke Army Medical Center
Fort Sam Houston, TX

Doernbecher Children's Hospital
Portland, OR

Eskenazi Health
Indianapolis, Indiana

Houston Methodist Hospital
Houston, TX

Huntington Hospital
Huntington, NY

Jackson Memorial Hospital
Miami, FL

Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center
Cleveland, OH

Marion General Hospital
Marion, OH

Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center
Houston, TX

Mount Sinai Hospital
New York, NY

Norton Children’s Hospital
Louisville, KY

Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Rochester General Hospital
Rochester, NY

St. Tammany Parish Hospital
Covington, LA

State University of New York Upstate University Hospital
Syracuse, NY

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, OH

Unity Hospital
Rochester, NY

University of California, Davis Health
Sacramento, CA

University of Kentucky HealthCare
Lexington, KY

University of Minnesota Medical Center
Minneapolis, MN

University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, MS

Valley Children’s Healthcare
Madera, CA

Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Bethesda, MD

Yale New Haven Hospital
New Haven, CT

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.