Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email








Twelve Institutions Receive the IDSA
Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence Designation

The Infectious Diseases Society of America has awarded 12 institutions the designation of Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence (CoE). The CoE program recognizes institutions that have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases physicians and ID-trained pharmacists that are of the highest quality and have achieved standards aligned with evidence-based national guidelines such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Core Elements. A total of 41 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

“Each year, more than 700,000 people worldwide die due to antimicrobial-resistant infections. Antimicrobial resistance is one of the greatest threats facing healthcare on a global, national and individual level. IDSA is committed to fighting antimicrobial resistance through its research, education, training, and policy efforts. We are proud to partner each of the institutions that have received the Centers of Excellence designation in turning the tide against antimicrobial resistance,” said IDSA President Cynthia Sears, MD, FIDSA.

The core criteria for the CoE program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols to optimize the treatment of infections and reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use leveraging electronic health record systems and providing ongoing education to help clinicians improve the quality of patient care and promote patient safety. A panel of esteemed IDSA member leaders evaluate CoE applications against core criteria to make recommendations for the designation. The panel is comprised of five ID-trained physicians and three ID-trained pharmacists with many years of expert stewardship experience.

The 12 institutions recently awarded the CoE designation are:

HCA Houston Healthcare Clear Lake
Webster, TX

Hendrick Medical Center     
Abilene, TX

Miami Valley Hospital          
Dayton, OH

Northwestern Memorial Hospital      
Chicago, IL

Orlando Health Dr. P. Phillips Hospital        
Orlando, FL

Primsa Health-Midlands
Columbia, SC

Stanford Health Care           
Stanford, CA

University of Chicago Medicine        
Chicago, IL

University of Illinois at Chicago       
Chicago, IL

Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center 
Winston-Salem, NC

Washington Regional Medical Center          
Fayetteville, AR

Wesley Medical Center         
Wichita, KS

To learn more about the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program and see a complete list of the institutions that have received the CoE designation, visit

# # #

The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) represents physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who specialize in infectious diseases. IDSA’s purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities, and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health, and prevention relating to infectious diseases.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.