Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

  IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship seal_web(1).png

Seven Institutions Receive the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Center of Excellence Designation


The Infectious Diseases Society of America has awarded seven institutions the designation of Antimicrobial Stewardship Center of Excellence. The designated hospitals have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases-trained physicians and pharmacists that advance science in antimicrobial resistance. The institutions also have achieved standards aligned with evidence-based national guidelines, such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Core Elements. A total of 109 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

“National Antibiotic Awareness week reminds us that drug resistant infections continue to increase even while the medical community joins together to fight the common enemy of COVID-19. IDSA continues to prioritize fighting antimicrobial resistance through research, education, training and policy initiatives. The Centers of Excellence program recognizes hospitals that are joining us in that fight. By honoring those institutions that have shown innovation and leadership in fighting antimicrobial resistance, we are highlighting the tools and standards that others may follow,” said IDSA President Barbara D. Alexander, M.D., MHS, FIDSA.

The core criteria for the CoE program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols by integrating best practices to slow the emergence of resistance, optimize the treatment of infections, reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use and to address other challenging areas related to antimicrobial stewardship. A panel of IDSA member experts in antimicrobial stewardship, including ID-trained physicians and ID-trained pharmacists, evaluate CoE applications against high-level criteria established by IDSA leadership for determining merit. The institutions recently awarded the CoE designation are:

Audie L. Murphy VA Medical Center
San Antonio, TX

Long Island Jewish Valley Stream
Valley Stream, NY

Mayo Clinic Health System – Eau Claire      
Eau Claire, WI

Medical City Frisco    
Frisco, TX

North Shore University Hospital        
Manhasset, NY

Saratoga Hospital      
Saratoga Springs, NY

University Hospital
San Antonio, TX

To learn more about the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program and to see a complete list of the institutions that have received the CoE designation, visit

The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) represents over 12,000 physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who specialize in infectious diseases. IDSA’s purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities, and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health, and prevention relating to infectious diseases.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.