Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email




Fourteen Institutions Receive the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship
Center of Excellence Designation

The Infectious Diseases Society of America announced today the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence designation. The 14 awarded institutions have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases-trained physicians and pharmacists that advance science in antimicrobial resistance. The institutions also have achieved standards aligned with evidence-based national guidelines, such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Core Elements. A total of 145 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

“Following a transformative year, antimicrobial resistance remains one of the greatest threats facing our future,” said Daniel P. McQuillen, MD, FIDSA, president of IDSA. “IDSA has never been more committed to combatting antimicrobial resistance at every level and our dedication to public health worldwide has never been stronger. By honoring these institutions who have achieved high standards in their stewardship programs, we are building a community fighting antimicrobial resistance. As we recognize National Antibiotic Awareness week, there has never been a more pivotal time to partner with each of the institutions that have received the Centers of Excellence designation.”

The core criteria for the CoE program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols by integrating best practices to slow the emergence of resistance, optimize the treatment of infections, reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use and to address other challenging areas related to antimicrobial stewardship. A panel of IDSA member experts in antimicrobial stewardship, including ID-trained physicians and ID-trained pharmacists, evaluate CoE applications against high-level criteria established by IDSA leadership for determining merit.

The institutions recently awarded the CoE designation are:

Aster Medcity 
Kochi, India

Franciscan Health Olympia Fields
Olympia Fields, IL

Kaiser Westside Medical Center
Hillsboro, OR

Kenmore Mercy Hospital
Kenmore, NY

Lenox Hill Hospital
New York, NY

Long Island Jewish Forest Hills
Queens, NY

Mercy Northwest Arkansas Hospital
Rogers, AR

MetroHealth Medical Center
Cleveland, OH

Monroe Carell Jr Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
Nashville, TN

Mount Saint Mary's Hospital
Lewiston, NY

Providence Regional Medical Center Everett
Everett, WA

The Miriam Hospital
Providence, RI

Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

Williamson Medical Center
Franklin, TN

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.