Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

Six Institutions Receive the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Center of Excellence Designation

IDSA calls on Congress to pass the PASTEUR Act to help address antimicrobial resistance

The Infectious Diseases Society of America announced today the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence designation. The six awarded institutions have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases-trained physicians and pharmacists that advance science in antimicrobial resistance. The institutions also have achieved standards aligned with evidence-based national guidelines, such as the IDSA-Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America guidelines and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Core Elements. A total of 151 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

“Solving the next public health emergency starts with addressing the threat of antimicrobial resistance,” said Carlos del Rio, MD, FIDSA, president of IDSA. “These six institutions are working to counter the growing problem of resistance and — as a result — saving lives. Our dedication to public health worldwide has never been stronger. As we kick off U.S. Antibiotic Awareness week, we are proud to partner and shine a light on each of the institutions that have received the Centers of Excellence designation.”

In addition to its growing Centers of Excellence program, IDSA continues to support legislative efforts to strengthen the U.S. response to antimicrobial resistance by advocating for passage of the Pioneering Antimicrobial Subscriptions to End Upsurging Resistance (PASTEUR) Act, a bipartisan bill, H.R. 8920 and S. 4760, that IDSA helped to develop. PASTEUR would change the way the federal government pays for critically needed new antibiotics.

The core criteria for the Centers of Excellence program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols by integrating best practices to slow the emergence of resistance, optimize the treatment of infections, reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use and address other challenging areas related to antimicrobial stewardship. A panel of IDSA member experts in antimicrobial stewardship, including ID-trained physicians and ID-trained pharmacists, evaluate Centers of Excellence applications against high-level criteria established by IDSA leadership for determining merit.

The institutions recently awarded the Centers of Excellence designation are:

Franciscan Health Dyer
Dyer, IN

Franciscan Health Munster
Munster, IN

MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center
Rossville, MD

North Oaks Medical Center
Hammond, LA

Riverside Community Hospital
Riverside, CA

Kings County Hospital Center
Brooklyn, NY

About IDSA
The Infectious Diseases Society of America is a community of more than 12,000 physicians, scientists and public health experts who specialize in infectious diseases. Its purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health and prevention relating to infectious diseases. Learn more at

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.