Skip to nav Skip to content
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

16 Institutions Receive the IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Center of Excellence Designation


The Infectious Diseases Society of America has announced the recipients of its Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence designation. The 16 awarded institutions have created stewardship programs led by infectious diseases-trained physicians and pharmacists that advance science in fighting antimicrobial resistance. The institutions have achieved standards aligned with evidence-based national guidelines, such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Core Elements. A total of 179 programs nationwide have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017.

“As we enter U.S. Antibiotic Awareness week, we’re reminded that drug-resistant infections continue to increase,” said IDSA President Steven Schmitt, MD, FIDSA. “As IDSA continues to advocate for passage of the PASTEUR Act and the establishment of a grant program to strengthen antimicrobial stewardship programs in hospitals, the Centers of Excellence program recognizes hospitals that are joining us in that fight. We continue to count on each of these Centers of Excellence institutions to showcase the critical value of antimicrobial stewardship. We honor those institutions that have shown innovation and leadership in fighting antimicrobial resistance.”
The core criteria for the CoE program place emphasis on an institution’s ability to implement stewardship protocols by integrating best practices to slow the emergence of resistance, optimize the treatment of infections, reduce adverse events associated with antibiotic use and address other challenging areas related to antimicrobial stewardship. A panel of IDSA member experts in antimicrobial stewardship, including ID-trained physicians and ID-trained pharmacists, evaluate CoE applications against high-level criteria established by IDSA leadership for determining merit. 

The institutions recently awarded the CoE designation are:

Atrium Health Cabarrus    
Concord, NC

Erie County Medical Center
Buffalo, NY

Inova Fairfax Medical Campus     
Falls Church, VA

Mary Greeley Medical Center       
Ames, IA

Mayo Clinic Mankato          
Mankato, MN

Montefiore St. Luke’s Cornwall    
Newburgh, NY

Nemours Children's Hospital - Delaware
Wilmington, DE

Plainview Hospital 
Plainview, NY

Sanford Medical Center Fargo      
North Fargo, ND

Terrebonne General
Houma, LA

The Queen’s Medical Center         
Honolulu, HI

Virtua Marlton Hospital     
Voorhees, NJ

Virtua Mount Holly Hospital         
Voorhees, NJ

Virtua Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital      
Voorhees, NJ

Virtua Voorhees Hospital  
Voorhees, NJ

Virtua Willingboro Hospital         
Voorhees, NJ

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.