Skip to nav Skip to content

Board of Directors

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email


Carlos del Rio, MD, FIDSA, President

Dr. del Rio is a Professor of Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine, Professor of Global Health and Epidemiology at the Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University and the Executive Associate Dean of Emory at Grady Health System. He is also Principal Investigator and Co-Director of the Emory Center for AIDS Research and Co-Principal Investigator of the Emory-CDC HIV Clinical Trials Unit and Emory Vaccine and Treatment Evaluation Unit. He has served the society throughout his career, including serving as Chair of IDSA’s HIV Medicine Association and as a past member of the IDSA Board.

He is an astute and experienced leader with a great deal of experience communicating about and implementing a strategic vision. He is deeply committed to resident and fellow education and the development of the next generation of ID and HIV leaders and is passionate about recruiting more underrepresented minorities into the field and eliminating gender disparities in salary and opportunities.


Steven K. Schmitt, MD, FIDSA, President-elect

Steven K. Schmitt, MD, FIDSA, is vice chair of the Department of Infectious Disease at the Cleveland Clinic and head of the department’s Section of Bone and Joint Infections. He also serves as an associate professor of medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University in Ohio. A strong advocate for fair payment policies for ID physicians, he has served on numerous society committees working on these and related issues, including the Clinical Affairs Committee, the Value of ID Specialists Task Force, the Physician Compensation Task Force, and the Leadership Institute Task Force, among others, in addition to serving on the board from 2013-2016. He is committed to using his experience to ensure that ID specialists have a seat at the leadership table, to help attract the next generation of physicians and scientists to the field and to ensure that ID specialists are fairly compensated for their contributions to patient care and the health care system. 

Tina Tan, MD, FIDSA, FPIDS, FAAP, Vice President

Tina Tan, MD, FIDSA, FPIDS, FAAP, is professor of pediatrics at the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University, medical director of the International Patient and Destination Services Program, medical director of the International Adoptee Clinic and medical co-director of the Travel Medicine Clinic at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago. She has been a member of the Antibiotic Use and Clinical Trials Committee and served in leadership roles on the IDWeek Program Committee, which has helped her lead the way in how IDSA addresses issues of compensation and workforce shortages. She has served as an IDSA Board member and as a media spokesperson for IDSA and currently serves as the chair of the IDA&E Committee, which was instrumental in developing the IDA&E guiding principles and roadmap for IDSA to implement at all levels of the organization. Dr. Tan also has been a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Infectious Diseases. She is a thought leader on antimicrobial resistance and is passionate about mentoring trainees, providing access to care and improving equity. She hopes to bring her focus on advocacy, diversity and inclusion — especially for infants, children and pregnant women — to efforts to improve health disparities in her work on the board.

Jeanne Marrazzo photo.jpg

Jeanne Marrazzo, MD, MPH, FIDSA, Treasurer

Jeanne Marrazzo, MD, MPH, FIDSA, is the C. Glenn Cobbs Endowed Chair in Infectious Diseases and director of the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, where she also co-directs the Center for AIDS Research. Her research focuses on the management and prevention of sexually transmitted infections, the vaginal microbiome and reproductive tract infections in women. Dr. Marrazzo has been involved in IDSA leadership for the last decade, first through membership on the IDWeek Program Committee, and more recently as a member of the board for the past four years. Through this service, she has gained a deep understanding of, and helped promote, IDSA’s goals in numerous areas.

Daniel P McQuillen.jpgDaniel P McQuillen, MD, FIDSA, Past President

Dr. McQuillen is Senior Physician in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Beth Israel Lahey Health, Lahey Hospital & Medical Center, and Assistant Professor of Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine. Dr. McQuillen has been an active member of IDSA for over two decades, serving a term on the Board of Directors and as a member and chair of the Society’s Clinical Affairs Committee and its Valuation Workgroup as well as the IDWeek Program Committee, focusing much of his time promoting the value of the ID specialist.

He is the co-author of three research papers supporting the value of ID. He is committed to addressing what he believes is one of the greatest challenges facing the specialty today: fair reimbursement for infectious diseases services. 

Robin Trotman, DO, FIDSA, Secretary

Robin Trotman, DO, FIDSA, is the Medical Director of Infectious Diseases: Infection Prevention Services and hospital epidemiologist at CoxHealth in Springfield, Missouri, where he spends most of his time as a general infectious diseases clinician, seeing patients in the hospital and in the outpatient setting and also directs the Antimicrobial Stewardship program and Clinical Research department. Dr. Trotman began his IDSA involvement in the Clinical Affairs Committee, where he served for over a decade before becoming a member of the Clinical Practice Innovation Working Group. He was also a member of the Physician Compensation Task Force and helped guide the development and publishing of the IDSA compensation surveys. In addition to his current IDSA service, Dr Trotman served on the Missouri Governors COVID Advisory Group, created a COVID Project ECHO through Missouri Telehealth Network to provide real time learning on managing COVID-19 hospital patients across Kansas and Missouri, and developed and sustained an extensive antimicrobial stewardship program for 12 years. Currently Dr Trotman serves as a volunteer assistant professor at University of Missouri, Springfield clinical campus as well as Secretary on the IDSA Board.


Lilian M. Abbo, MD, FIDSA
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL





Adaora Adimora, MD, FIDSA
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC




Cesar A. Arias, MD, MS, PhD, FIDSA
Houston Methodist Hospital
Houston, Texas




Maximo O. Brito, MD, MPH, FIDSA
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL




Dr. Erin Bonura, MD
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR



Rana Chakraborty, MD, MSC, PHD, FIDSA
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN





Rajesh T Gandhi, MD, FIDSA
HIVMA Representative
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Jasmine Marcelin, MD, FACP, FIDSA
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, Nebraska




Bonnie Word, MD, FIDSA
Houston Travel Medicine Clinic
Houston, TX




Chief Executive Officer  
Ex-Officio Member
Infectious Diseases Society of America
Arlington, VA
Staff Liaison
Infectious Diseases Society of America
Arllington, VA

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.