Skip to nav Skip to content

Edward H. Kass Lecture

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2022 Featured Lecturer

Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD, FIDSA

Archana Chatterjee, MD, PhD, FIDSA, serves as the dean of Chicago Medical School and vice president for medical affairs at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science. Trained as a pediatric infectious diseases specialist, Dr. Chatterjee has practiced in her field for more than 20 years; conducted more than 120 clinical trials; and published more than 90 peer-reviewed articles, 26 invited review articles, 24 book chapters and one book. She serves as a reviewer for 35 journals. In the past 20 years, Dr. Chatterjee has delivered more than 700 lectures and 200 scientific presentations at various international, national, regional and local venues. She has served as the course director for more than 30 CME programs, given more than 95 media interviews and published 30 newspaper articles.

Dr. Chatterjee has been elected/selected to serve on several national advisory boards and committees including the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Vaccines and Related Biological Products Advisory Committee, the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Group on Women in Medicine and Science, the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society Board of Directors and the American Board of Pediatrics Sub-Board of Pediatric Infectious Diseases.

Mentorship and sponsorship of faculty and learners has been a hallmark of Dr. Chatterjee’s entire 30-year career in academic medicine. Through her tireless efforts at guiding, promoting and encouraging faculty and learners, she has impacted the careers of numerous leaders, faculty members, fellows, residents and students, not only at her home institutions, but nationally and internationally. Another area of concentration for Dr. Chatterjee has been diversity, equity and inclusion, particularly gender diversity and intersectionality. She has focused some of her scholarly effort on collaborative projects related to faculty and leadership development as well as DEI initiatives, participating in presentations at national conferences and publishing her work in high-impact, peer-reviewed journals.


Past Edward Kass Lecturers 

2021 Patricia N. Whitley-Williams, MD
2020 Adaora A. Adimora, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2019 Henry L. DuPont, MD, FIDSA
2018 Henry Masur, MD, FIDSA
2017 James M. Hughes, MD, FIDSA
2016 John R. Perfect, MD, FIDSA
2015 Karen C. Carroll, MD, FIDSA
2014 Janet Gilsdorf, MD, FIDSA, FPIDS  
2013 Peter Hotez, MD, PhD
2012 Elaine L. Larson, PhD, RN, FIDSA
2011 Larry Pickering, MD
2010 Richard Wenzel, MD, MPH
2009 Paul A. Volberding, MD, FIDSA
2008 Arturo Casadevall, MD
2007 David Relman, MD, FIDSA
2006 Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, FIDSA
2005 Constance A. Benson, MD, FIDSA
2004 Lucy Tompkins, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2003 Seymour J. Klebanoff, MD, PhD
2002 Stanley A. Plotkin, MD, FIDSA
2001 John G. Bartlett, MD, FIDSA
2000 Walter Stamm, MD
1999 Sharon Hillier, PhD
1998 Martin Blaser, MD, FIDSA
1997 Judith Wasserheit, MD, FIDSA
1996 Charles S. Bryan, MD
1995 Alfred Evans, MD
1994 Jay Sanford, MD
1993 Floyd Denny, MD
1992 Allan Brandt
1991 Theodore Woodward, MD


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.