Skip to nav Skip to content

Joseph E. Smadel Lecture

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2022 Featured Lecturer

David M. Aronoff, MD, FIDSA, FAAM

David M. Aronoff, MD, FIDSA, FAAM, is the John B. Hickam Professor of Medicine and chair of the Department of Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine. Dr. Aronoff received his bachelor of science degree in microbiology from Indiana University and his medical degree from Tufts University. He completed internship and residency training, including a year as chief resident, in internal medicine at Vanderbilt University. Dr. Aronoff stayed at Vanderbilt to complete a clinical fellowship in infectious diseases and a research fellowship in clinical pharmacology. He then joined the faculty in infectious diseases at the University of Michigan, where he also completed a postdoctoral research fellowship in immunology. He returned to Vanderbilt in 2013 as director of the Division of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Medicine with secondary faculty appointments in the Department of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology and the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology. In 2022, Dr. Aronoff was recruited back to Indiana University to serve as chair of the Department of Medicine. Dr. Aronoff is an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and a fellow of both IDSA and the American Academy of Microbiology. His research lab studies reproductive immunology and infections that complicate pregnancy. Dr. Aronoff has published more than 230 peer-reviewed manuscripts. He has held national leadership roles in IDSA, the American Society for Microbiology, the Anaerobe Society of the Americas and the American Society for Reproductive Immunology. He has received numerous governmental and nongovernmental research grants, including support from the National Institutes of Health, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, the March of Dimes and the Global Alliance to Prevent Prematurity & Stillbirth.



Past Joseph E. Smadel Lecture Winners

2021 Keith P. Klugman, MD, PhD
2020 Upinder Singh, MD, FIDSA
2019 Gail Bolan, MD
2018 Monica Farley, MD, FIDSA
2017 Ruth Lynfield, MD, FIDSA
2016 Patricia Griffin, MD, FIDSA
2015 Bruno Moonen* (In Honor of Alan Magil)
2014 Robert A. Weinstein, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA
2013 Myron S. Cohen, MD, FIDSA
2012 Diane Havlir, MD, FIDSA
2011 William Schaffner, MD, FIDSA
2010 Kathleen M. Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2009 Myron Levine, MD, FIDSA
2008 Jane E. Koehler, MA, MD
2007 Kathryn M. Edwards, MD, FIDSA
2006 Allan R. Roland, MD
2005 Lyle Petersen, MD, MPH
2004 Eric Ottesen, MD
2003 Didier Raoult, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2002 Donald A. Henderson, MD
2001 Karl Johnson, MD
2000 Anna Schuchat, MD, FIDSA
1999 Lou Miller, MD
1998 Thomas Wellems, MD, PhD
1997 Brett Finlay, PhD
1996 Scott B. Halstead, MD, FIDSA
1995 David T. Dennis, MD, MPH
1994 Roy Anderson, FRS
1993 Richard Guerrant, MD
1992 Alfred Sommer, MD
1991 Charles Carpenter, MD
1990 Zanvil Cohn, MD
1989 Thomas Grayston, MD
1988 P. Fredrick Sparling, MD, FIDSA
1987 Jack M. Gwaltney, MD
1986 Richard Johnson, MD
1985 Franklin Neva, MD
1984 Maurice Hilleman, PhD
1983 Garrison Rapmund, MD
1982 Richard Hornick, MD
1981 Baruj Benacerraf, MD
1980 Robert Chanock, MD
1979 Philip Russell, MD
1978 Philip Paterson, MD
1977 Carleton Gajdusek, MD


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.