Skip to nav Skip to content

Maxwell Finland Lecture

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2022 Featured Lecturer

Helen Boucher, MD, FIDSA

Helen Boucher, MD, FIDSA, is director of the Tufts Center for Integrated Management of Antimicrobial Resistance, a collaborative, cross-disciplinary initiative between Tufts University and Tufts Medical Center with a mission to deliver innovative solutions to combat antimicrobial resistance through research, policy and education. She also serves as director of the Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program at Tufts Medical Center, director of TMC’s Heart Transplant and Ventricular Assist Device Infectious Diseases Program, and professor of medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. Dr. Boucher’s clinical interests include infections in immunocompromised patients and S. aureus infections. Her research interests focus on S. aureus and the development of new anti-infective agents. She is the author or co-author of numerous abstracts, chapters and peer-reviewed articles, which have been published in such journals as The New England Journal of Medicine, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Clinical Infectious Diseases and The Annals of Internal Medicine; she is associate editor of Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy. Since 2009, Dr. Boucher has been included in Best Doctors in America, a nomination-based list that is limited to about 5% of practicing physicians in the U.S. each year. In 2011, she was elected fellow and member of the Board of Directors of IDSA. She was also elected to the American Board of Internal Medicine Infectious Disease Exam Writing Committee in 2012 and to the American Board of Internal Medicine Infectious Diseases Subspecialty Board in 2014. In 2015, Dr. Boucher was appointed a voting member of the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria and elected treasurer of IDSA. She was awarded the IDSA Society Citation Award in October 2015. Dr. Boucher serves on the Board of Trustees of the Physicians of Tufts Medical Center and The College of the Holy Cross.




Past Maxwell Finland Award Lecturers 

2021 Eric G. Pamer, MD, FIDSA
2020 Vance G. Fowler, Jr., MD, MHS, FIDSA
2019 Robin Patel, MD, FIDSA
2018 Arjun Srinivasan, MD, FSHEA
2017 Steven Holland, MD, FIDSA
2016 Robert C. Read, MD, FIDSA
2015 Henry F. "Chip" Chambers, MD, FIDSA
2014 Liise-Anne Pirofski, MD, FIDSA
2013 Victoria J. Fraser, MD, FIDSA
2012 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD, FIDSA
2011     Julie Parsonnet, MD, FIDSA
2010        Gerald Friedland, MD
2009 Cynthia L. Sears, MD, FIDSA
2008 Anthony Fauci, MD, FIDSA
2007 Louis B. Rice, MD, FIDSA
2006 W. Michael Scheld, MD, FIDSA
2005 William Dismukes, MD
2004 King Holmes, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2003 Robert C. Moellering, Jr., MD
2002 Jerome Klein, MD
2001 Margaret Hostetter, MD
2000 P. Frederick Sparling, MD, FIDSA
1999 Frederick Southwick, MD, FIDSA
1998 Elain Tuomanen, MD
1997 Gerald Keusch, MD
1996 Barbara Murray, MD, FIDSA
1995 Theodore Eickhoff, MD
1994 Carol Baker, MD, FIDSA
1993 Stanley Falkow, PhD
1992 John Bennett, MD, FIDSA
1991 Michael Blaese, MD
1990 Robert Gallo, MD
1989 John Robbins, MD
1988 Thomas Merigan, MD
1987 R. Palmer Beasley, MD, MS
1986 Alexander Langmuir, MD
1985 Harry Dowling, MD
1984 Albert Sabin, MD
1983 Paul Quie, MD, FIDSA
1982 Jack Remington, MD, FIDSA
1981 Abraham Braude, MD, PhD
1980 Maclyn McCarty, MD
1979 Harry Feldman, MD
1978 Dorothy Horstmann, MD
1977 George Jackson, MD, FIDSA
1976 Edward Kass, MD, PhD, MS
1975 George Meiklejohn, MD
1974 Robert Austrian, MD
1973 Louis Weinstein, MD, PhD, MS
1972 Theodore Woodward, MD


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.