Skip to nav Skip to content

University of California, San Diego

University of California

San Diego School of Medicine
Antiviral Research Center 150 W. Washing Street Suite 100

San Diego, CA 92103

Phone: 619 543 8080
Fax: 619 298 0177

Training Program Director

University of California, San Diego Constance Benson MD

Research Interests: HIV pathogenesis and therapy; mycobacterial infection

Participating Hospitals

UCSD Hillcrest Hospital: 300
UCSD Thornton Hospital VA: 120
Scripps Green: 100

Program Training Offerings

How does this program meet the ABIM requirements for training in clinical microbiology?

Hands-on Experience

The Program provides training in hospital epidemiology through:

Didactic LecturesContinuity Clinic

The Program provides clinical experience for fellows in the following:

Infections in marrow transplantInfections in solid organ transplant patientsInfections in travelers and tropical medicine

This Program provides training in STD management through:

Didactic LecturesCourses ElsewhereAttendence

The Program has a didactic lecture course for fellows:


If yes, what is the average number of lectures provided over a two-year period?


Training is for:


Are there citizenship requirements?


Citizenship Requirements:

U.S. Citizen or Permanent Resident

Types of visas accepted:

Number of fellows accepted each year:

3 - 4

Duration of the Fellowship (years):


The Program has a training grant (T32):


Average number of infectious diseases consults per trainee per year:

400 - 450

Number of Fellows completing the Program in the last 5 years:


Additional Training/Faculty Resources (optional):

Training in Hospital Epidemiology Through: Didactic Lectures  - SHEA course

Applications accepted via Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS®)?


Timeframe when applications are accepted:

Timeframe when interviews are done

Robert T. Schooley MD

Robert T. Schooley


Sam Bozzette MD

Sam Bozzette

Sara Browne MD

Sara Browne

Lynette B. Corbeil DVM, PhD

Lynette B. Corbeil

John Fierer MD

John Fierer

Frances D. Gillin PhD

Frances D. Gillin

Miguel Goicoechea MD

Miguel Goicoechea

John C. Guatelli MD

John C. Guatelli

Donald G. Guiney MD

Donald G. Guiney

Richard H. Haubrich MD

Richard H. Haubrich

Karl Y. Hostetler MD

Karl Y. Hostetler

Robert C. Huang MD

Robert C. Huang

Theo Katsivas MD

Theo Katsivas

Theo N. Kirkland MD

Theo N. Kirkland

Richard S. Kornbluth MD, PhD

Richard S. Kornbluth

Scott Letendre MD

Scott Letendre

Susan J. Little MD

Susan J. Little

David J. Looney MD

David J. Looney

J. Allen McCutchan MD

J. Allen McCutchan

Sheldon Morris MD

Sheldon Morris

Marygorret Obonya MD

Marygorret Obonya

Michael N. Oxman MD

Michael N. Oxman

Eyal Raz MD

Eyal Raz

Sharon L. Reed MD

Sharon L. Reed

Douglas D. Richman MD

Douglas D. Richman

Maria C. Savoia MD

Maria C. Savoia

Aleem Siddiqui MD

Aleem Siddiqui

Rachel Schrier PhD

Rachel Schrier

Davey Smith MD

Davey Smith

Celsa Spina PhD

Celsa Spina

Steffanie Strathdee PhD

Steffanie Strathdee

Randy Taplitz MD

Randy Taplitz

Francesca J. Torriani MD

Francesca J. Torriani

Joseph Vinetz MD

Joseph Vinetz

David L. Wyles MD

David L. Wyles

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.