Skip to nav Skip to content

University of Iowa

University of Iowa

Department of Internal Medicine
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, IA 52242

Phone: 319 384 6186
Fax: 319 384 7208

Training Program Director

Judy Streit MD

Participating Hospitals

University of Iowa Hospital and Clinic : 680
VA Medical Center : 175

Program Training Offerings

How does this program meet the ABIM requirements for training in clinical microbiology?

Didactic LecturesHands-on Experience

The Program provides training in hospital epidemiology through:

Didactic LecturesContinuity Clinic

The Program provides clinical experience for fellows in the following:

Infections in marrow transplantInfections in solid organ transplant patientsInfections in travelers and tropical medicineInfections in children

This Program provides training in STD management through:

Didactic Lectures

The Program has a didactic lecture course for fellows:


If yes, what is the average number of lectures provided over a two-year period?


Training is for:


Are there citizenship requirements?


Citizenship Requirements:

U.S. Preferred

Types of visas accepted:

Number of fellows accepted each year:


Duration of the Fellowship (years):


The Program has a training grant (T32):


Average number of infectious diseases consults per trainee per year:


Number of Fellows completing the Program in the last 5 years:


Additional Training/Faculty Resources (optional):

Applications accepted via Electronic Residency Application Service (ERASĀ®)?


Timeframe when applications are accepted:

Timeframe when interviews are done

Jack T. Stapleton MD

Jack T. Stapleton


Lee-Ann Allen PhD

Lee-Ann Allen

Jason Barker MD

Jason Barker

Peter Densen MD

Peter Densen

Charles M. Helms MD, PhD

Charles M. Helms

Loreen A. Herweldt MD

Loreen A. Herweldt

Birgi Johannsson MD

Birgi Johannsson

L. Vaughn Kirchoff MD

L. Vaughn Kirchoff

Anton McCaffrey PhD

Anton McCaffrey

Jeffery Meier MD

Jeffery Meier

Rachel Miller MD

Rachel Miller

William M. Nauseef MD

William M. Nauseef

Michael Ohl MD

Michael Ohl

Philip Polgreen MD

Philip Polgreen

Judy Streit MD

Judy Streit

Fayyaz Sutterwala MD, PhD

Fayyaz Sutterwala

Jerrold Weiss PhD

Jerrold Weiss

Mary E. Wilson MD

Mary E. Wilson

R. Todd Wiblin MD

R. Todd Wiblin

Patricia Winokur MD

Patricia Winokur

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.