Skip to nav Skip to content

University of Massachusetts

University of Massachusetts

Medical School
364 Plantation St.
Division of Infectious Diseases and Immunology Room LRB 223
Worchester, MA 01655

Phone: 508 856 7513
Fax: 508 856 7525

Training Program Director

Brant L. Viner MD

Participating Hospitals

UMass Memorial Health Care : 701

Program Training Offerings

How does this program meet the ABIM requirements for training in clinical microbiology?

Didactic LecturesHands-on Experience

The Program provides training in hospital epidemiology through:

Didactic LecturesContinuity Clinic

The Program provides clinical experience for fellows in the following:

Infections in marrow transplantInfections in solid organ transplant patientsInfections in travelers and tropical medicineInfections in children

This Program provides training in STD management through:

Didactic LecturesCourses ElsewhereAttendence

The Program has a didactic lecture course for fellows:


If yes, what is the average number of lectures provided over a two-year period?


Training is for:


Are there citizenship requirements?


Citizenship Requirements:

U.S. Preferred

Types of visas accepted:

Number of fellows accepted each year:


Duration of the Fellowship (years):

2 - 3

The Program has a training grant (T32):


Average number of infectious diseases consults per trainee per year:


Number of Fellows completing the Program in the last 5 years:


Additional Training/Faculty Resources (optional):

Applications accepted via Electronic Residency Application Service (ERASĀ®)?


Timeframe when applications are accepted:

Timeframe when interviews are done

Douglas Golenbock MD

Douglas Golenbock


Neil R. Blacklow MD

Neil R. Blacklow

Irene Bosch PhD

Irene Bosch

Sarah H. Cheeseman MD

Sarah H. Cheeseman

Jennifer S. Daly MD

Jennifer S. Daly

Raul E. Davaro MD

Raul E. Davaro

William A. Durbin MD

William A. Durbin

Richard T. Ellison, III MD

Richard T. Ellison, III

Francis A. Ennis MD

Francis A. Ennis

Robert W. Finberg MD

Robert W. Finberg

Kate Fitzgerald PhD

Kate Fitzgerald

Sharone Green MD

Sharone Green

Douglas Golenbock MD

Douglas Golenbock

Thomas C. Greenough MD

Thomas C. Greenough

John E. Herrmann PhD

John E. Herrmann

Hardy Kornfeld MD

Hardy Kornfeld

Kwan Kew Lai MD

Kwan Kew Lai

Daniel Libraty MD

Daniel Libraty

Egil Lien PhD

Egil Lien

Shan Lu MD, PhD

Shan Lu

Katherine Luzuriaga MD

Katherine Luzuriaga

Brian J. Mady MD

Brian J. Mady

Joan Mannick MD

Joan Mannick

Richard Moriarty MD

Richard Moriarty

Alan L. Rothman MD

Alan L. Rothman

Neal Silverman PhD

Neal Silverman

John L. Sullivan MD

John L. Sullivan

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.