Skip to nav Skip to content

John F. Enders Lecture

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2022 Featured Lecturer

Sten H. Vermund, MD, PhD, FIDSA

Sten H. Vermund, MD, PhD, FIDSA, an infectious disease epidemiologist and pediatrician, served as the dean of the Yale School of Public Health from 2017-2022. His work has focused on diseases of resource-limited settings, including HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted infections including human papillomavirus, parasitic diseases and the novel coronavirus. A special interest is in interventional and implementation science in child health, especially to increase coverage and quality of services to prevent mother-to-child HIV transmission. As with so many IDSA members in 2020, Dr. Vermund pivoted his work towards COVID-19 research and intervention, working with collaborators in China, the Dominican Republic and the U.S. on mask use policy, vaccine deployment and safety in schools, health care and arts organizations.

Prior leadership roles include serving as principal investigator of collaborative NIH networks, including the Adolescent Medicine HIV/AIDS Research Network, the NIH Prevention Trials Network, and the Fogarty International Clinical Research Scholars and Fellows Program. Dr. Vermund’s work in HIV-HPV interactions informed the change in the 1993 AIDS case definition from CDC to include cervical cancer, motivating cervical cancer screening within HIV clinics worldwide. Aside from his 1988-1994 stint as a branch chief at the NIH/NIAID under Dr. Anthony Fauci, his 40-plus year career has been university-based (Columbia, Einstein, UAB, Vanderbilt), including the establishment of two nongovernmental organizations: the Center for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia and Friends in Global Health (in Mozambique and in Nigeria). Dr. Vermund is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences.


Past John F. Enders Lecturers

2021 Ann R. Falsey, MD
2020 Anna Wald, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2019 Michael Boeckh, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2018 Rochelle Walensky, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2017 Connie Celum, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2016 Judith Currier, MD, MSc, MPH, FIDSA
2015 Lynne M. Mofenson, MD, FIDSA
2014 Roger I. Glass, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2013 Nancy J. Cox, PhD
2012 David L. Thomas, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2011 Angela M. Caliendo, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2010 Don Ganem, MD, FIDSA
2009 Stanley M. Lemon, MD, FIDSA
2008 Bruce Walker, MD
2007 Thomas C. Quinn, MD, FIDSA
2006 Frederick G. Hayden, MD, FIDSA
2005 Stephen E. Straus, MD
2004 Martin S. Hirsch, MD, FIDSA
2003 Catherine M. Wilfert, MD
2002 Ann M. Arvin, MD, FIDSA
2001 Lawrence Corey, MD, FIDSA
2000 Richard Whitley, MD, FIDSA
1999 Samuel Katz, MD
1998 Richard Johnson, MD
1997 Diane Griffin, MD, PhD, FIDSA
1996 Anne Gershon, MD, FIDSA
1995 Ciro de Quadros, MD, MPH
1994 Clarence Peters, MD
1993 Caroline Breese Hall, MD
1992 Barry Bloom, PhD
1991 Robert Schooley, MD, FIDSA
1990 Gertrude Elion, DSc
1989 George Miller, PhD
1988 Thomas Weller, MD


This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.