Skip to nav Skip to content

Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

Our Vision

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers for Excellence (CoE) Program promotes excellence in antimicrobial use and combating antimicrobial resistance by recognizing hospitals that effectively demonstrate excellence in this work. Possessing a CoE designation signifies an institution has the policies and processes in place to deliver high-quality stewardship services consistently, execute novel stewardship principles, and demonstrate a high-level commitment to improving antimicrobial use and reducing resistance. 

The Centers of Excellence designation program aligns with evidence-based national guidelines such as the IDSA-SHEA guidelines and CDC's Core Elements of Hospital Antibiotic Stewardship Programs.

A total of 177 programs have received the designation since the program’s launch in 2017, including the United Arab Emirates and India. See the full list of CoE designated hospitals.

View Full List

How to Apply for a Centers of Excellence Designation

Step One:

Review the CDC Core Elements to ensure your organization meets the program eligibility requirements.

Step Two:

Verify your organization's enrollment and reporting to the National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) Antimicrobial Use and Resistance (AUR).

Step Three:

If your institution meets the program criteria, please download and complete the application below.

Final Step:

Complete the designation application, compile all supporting documentation, and contact CoE staff for additional file naming and uploading instructions.

If your institution meets the criteria for the Centers of Excellence program, there will be a $5,000 license fee for the 2-year designation.

Apply Today    Learn More →

Applications must be submitted by an active IDSA member.

The Importance of Antimicrobial Stewardship

  • Each year, more than 700,000 individuals die due to antimicrobial resistance (AMR) infections.
  • IDSA has promoted antimicrobial stewardship (AS) as an avenue to combat AMR for many years.
  • The CDC and the Joint Commission have set standards for hospitals to have antimicrobial stewardship programs (ASPs) in place.
  • IDSA values recognizing those institutions with comprehensive ASPs in place, which can further guide other hospitals.

Next application deadline: Cycle 1: January 31, 2024 | Cycle 2: July 1, 2024

The IDSA Antimicrobial Stewardship Centers of Excellence program is intended to recognize healthcare facilities that implement and maintain highly effective ASPs. IDSA acknowledges that many institutions are part of health systems; however, the CoE Core Criteria was developed to assess the resources and capabilities of a single institution. The CoE designation will not apply to an entity that provides services that support, in whole or in part, the AS program of an institution; therefore, each facility is required to apply on an individual facility basis and subject to separate licensing fees.

For additional information, please email

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.