Skip to nav Skip to content

Clinical Teacher Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2019 Winner: William L. Salzer, MD


William Salzer.jpgWilliam L. Salzer, MD, who supervised hundreds of students, residents, and fellows over nearly three decades, is the posthumous recipient of IDSA’s 2019 Clinical Teacher Award. This award honors a career dedicated to teaching clinical infectious diseases to fellows, residents, and medical students and recognizes excellence as a clinician and motivation to teach the next generation of physicians.
Salzer was director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and professor of clinical medicine at the University of Missouri School of Medicine. He was also the director of the ID fellowship program from 2004 until his passing in 2019. Passionate about patient care, physician training, medical education, community outreach, and mentorship, he contributed greatly to the patient-based learning curriculum as a case and exam writer and did so since the curriculum, in which students collaboratively learn from real clinical cases, was introduced at the University of Missouri 25 years ago. In his decades of service, he has become a legendary teacher and mentor to students, several of whom are now faculty members at his institution.

Arriving early to the office and among the last to leave each day, Dr. Salzer was readily available to answer student questions and to respond to pressing educational needs, including when expert lectures were needed on short notice. Listed among Best Doctors in America for 2009-2010, Dr. Salzer received more than 30 teaching awards, including the Jane Hickman Teaching Award, the highest honor in medical education bestowed by the University of Missouri, in 2018. Graduating medical students, by vote, selected him to serve either as the investiture marshall—who hoods all graduates as they receive their diplomas—or as a commencement speaker eight times.

Dr. Salzer served on IDSA’s Fellows In-Training Exam Test Writing Subcommittee as well as the Education Committee for the Society’s annual meeting. A member of several medical school and hospital committees, he also served as a board member and medical director for Spectrum Health Care, originally founded in 1992 as the Regional AIDS Interfaith Network, which focuses on providing compassionate care to patients. Dr. Salzer received his medical degree from New Jersey Medical School in Newark, followed by an internship, residency, and chief residency at North Carolina Baptist Hospital in Winston-Salem. He completed an ID fellowship and a National Cancer Institute post-doctoral research fellowship at the Bowman Gray School of Medicine in Winston-Salem.

During his many years of tireless dedication to teaching the physicians of the future, Dr. Salzer became a true legend among students, residents, fellows, and colleagues at the University of Missouri and beyond. IDSA is pleased to add the 2019 Clinical Teacher Award to his impressive record of achievements. We are saddened that he passed just days before the award was given.


Past Clinical Teacher Award Winners

2018 Allan R. Tunkel, MD, PhD, FIDSA
2018 Frank E. Berkowitz, MD, MPH
2017 Michael J. Barza, MD, FIDSA
2016 Rashida A. Khakoo, MD, MACP, FIDSA, FSHEA
2015   Walter R. Wilson, MD, FIDSA
2014   Nesli Basgov, MD, FIDSA
2013 Marvin Turk, MD, FIDSA
2012 Carol A. Kauffman, MD, FIDSA
Sarah S. Long, MD, FIDSA
2011 Vincent J. Quagliarello, MD, FIDSA 
2010 Adolf W. Karchmer, MD, FIDSA
2009 Joshua Fierer, MD, FIDSA
2008 Larry M. Baddour, MD, FIDSA
2007 Daniel M. Musher, MD, FIDSA
2006 Hillar Vellend, MD, FIDSA
2005 John Fisher, MD, FACP



This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.