Skip to nav Skip to content

Society Citation Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

The Society Citation is a discretionary award given in recognition of exemplary contribution to IDSA, and outstanding discovery in the field of infectious diseases, or a lifetime of outstanding achievement. More than one award may be given each year.

2020 Winners: Adarsh Bhimraj, MD, MS, FIDSA & Christopher Ohl, MD, FIDSA


Past Society Citation Award Winners

2019 Brian S. Schwartz, MD
  Steven K. Schmitt, MD, FIDSA
2018 Louis D. Saravolatz, MD, FIDSA
2017 Wendy S. Armstrong, MD, FIDSA
Patrick Joseph, MD, FIDSA
Dean, L. Winslow, MD, FIDSA
2016 Mark A. Leasure
Bruce G. Gellin, MD, MPH, FIDSA
Martin G. Myers, MD, FIDSA, FPIDS
2015 Helen W. Boucher, MD, FIDSA
2014 David L. Thomas MD, MPH, FIDSA
2013 Marguerite A. Neill, MD
Catherine M. Wilfert, MD
2012 Myron S. Cohen, MD, FIDSA
N. Cary Engleberg, MD, FIDSA
Alan D. Tice, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA 

Carol J. Baker, MD, FIDSA
Wafaa El-Sadr, MD, MPH, MPA, FIDSA


John G. Bartlett, MD, FIDSA
Theodore C. Eickhoff, MD, FIDSA

2009 Warren D. Johnson, Jr., MD, FIDSA 
2008 Russell Petrak, MD

Gary P. Wormser, MD, FIDSA
Eduardo Gotuzzo, MD, FIDSA


Larry J. Strausbaugh, MD, FIDSA


George G. Jackson, MD
Lawrence P. Martinelli, MD


Stanley Falkow, PhD
Walter T. Hughes, Jr., MD
Emanuel Wolinsky, MD

2003 Morton N. Swartz, MD
Julie Gerberding, MD, on behalf of the CDC staff
2002 Marvin Turck, MD
C. Douglas Webb, PhD
2001 George W. Counts, MD
2000 Dennis George Maki, MD
Dennis L. Stevens, MD, PhD
1999 Sydney Finegold, MD
1998 Porter Anderson, PhD
John Robbins, MD
Rachel Schneerson, MD
David Smith, MD
1997 Johan Septimus Bakken, MD
1996 Donald A. Henderson, MD
1995 King Holmes, MD, PhD
1994 David Rogers, MD
Edward Hook, III, MD
1993 Dorothy Horstmann, MD
Samuel Katz, MD
Harold Neu, MD
1992 Robert Austrian, MD
Jay Sanford, MD
1988 Martha Yow, MD
1987 Margaret Pittman, PhD, MS
1986 Victor Nussenzweig, MD
1985 Robert Gallo, MD
Luc Montagnier, CNRS
Sheldon Wolff, MD
1984 Allen Steere, MD
1983 Maurice Hilleman, PhD
Saul Krugman, MD
1982 James Todd, MD
1981 Don Brenner, MS, PhD
William Cherry MS, PhD and Colleagues
James Freeley, PhD
Joseph McDade, PhD
1977 Edward Kass, MD, PhD, M







































This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.