Skip to nav Skip to content

Oswald Avery Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2018 Winner: Susanna Naggie, MD, MHS, FIDSA


Susanna Naggie.jpgSusanna Naggie, MD, MHS, FIDSA, whose novel research on the treatment of patients co-infected with HIV and hepatitis C virus (HCV) has advanced the field, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2018 Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement. This honor recognizes members or fellows of IDSA age 45 or younger who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in an area of infectious diseases.

Strongly committed to the care of patients living with HIV and viral hepatitis, Dr. Naggie’s research has been dedicated to understanding the mechanisms of accelerated liver fibrogenesis in this population. Her impressive work has helped define the role of pharmacogenomics and mechanistic studies of HCV treatment response in these patients, including studies of single nucleotide polymorphisms in HCV therapy and associated liver disease. This research identified 16 genes that were expressed at higher levels in the unfavorable CT/TT genotype versus the favorable CC genotypes and biologically implicated innate immunity functions. Her group was the first to report that black patients who carried the favorable CC genotype had more immune dysregulation than non-black patients without the favorable genotype. This research has laid an important foundation for understanding the disparity in HCV treatment response in co-infected African Americans.

Currently an associate professor of medicine at Duke University School of Medicine, where she has been a member of the faculty since 2009, Dr. Naggie is medical director of the Department of Medicine’s Clinical Research Unit and director of infectious diseases research at the Duke Clinical Research Institute. In addition to her own prolific research, she has served as the primary mentor for many trainees, including interns, residents, fellows, and junior faculty. She has demonstrated a strong interest in developing young trainees to pursue their own careers in research and academics by helping them gain important exposure to clinical trial design, operations, and leadership.

Dr. Naggie has served as a member and co-chair of the IDSA and American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases HCV guidance panel, as a member of the Department of Health and Human Services Panel on Antiretroviral Guidelines for Adults and Adolescents, and as a member or leader of several other notable national committees and groups. She has also served on the IDSA Clinical Affairs Committee, the IDWeek Program Committee, and the IDSA HCV Maintenance of Certification Development Panel. A graduate of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Dr. Naggie completed her internship, residency, chief residency, and ID fellowship training at Duke, where she also earned a master of health sciences degree in clinical research.

For her important contributions to our understanding of the care of patients living with HIV and HCV, IDSA is proud to honor Dr. Naggie with the 2018 Oswald Avery Award for Early Achievement.


Past Oswald Avery Award Winners

2017 William J. Steinbach, MD
2016 Susan S. Huang, MD, MPH, FIDSA, FSHEA
2015 Eric R. Houpt, MD, FIDSA
2014 Sarah E. Cosgrove, MD, MS, FIDSA, FSHEA and Rochelle P. Walensky, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2013 Cesar A. Arias, MD, MSc, PhD, FIDSA
2012 Dan A. Barouch, MD, PhD
2011 Umesh Parashar, MBBS, MPH
2010 Eleftherios Mylonakis, MD, PhD, FIDSA 
2009 Jean-Laurent Casanova, MD, PHD
2008 Vance G. Fowler, Jr., MD, MHS 
2007 Pablo C. Okhuysen, MD, FIDSA
2006 Cynthia G. Whitney, MD, MPH
2005 James E. Crowe, MD
2004 B. Brett Finlay, PhD
2003 Joseph Heitman, MD, PhD
2002 Matthew K. Waldor, MD, PhD
2001 David A. Relman, MD
2000 Michael S. Donnenberg, MD
1999 William A. Petri, Jr., MD, PhD
1998 Joseph W. St. Geme, III, MD
1997 Samuel I. Miller, MD
1996 David D. Ho, MD
1995 Michael Osterholm, PhD, MPH
1994 Mark Klempner, MD
1993 Claire Broome, MD
1992 Martin Blaser, MD
1991 Marcus Horwitz, M.D.
1990 Jerrold Ellner, MD
1989 Henry Murray, MD
1988 Walter Stamm, MD
1987 John Gallin, MD
1986 Charles Dinarello, MD
1985 Dennis Kasper, MD
1984 Adel Mahmoud, MD, PhD
1983 Anthony Fauci, MD
1982 George Miller, PhD
1981 Gerald Keusch, MD
1980 Robert Purcell, MD
1979 Stanley Falkow, PhD
1978 King Holmes, MD, PhD
1977 Lowell Glasgow, MD, MS
1976 Sheldon Wolff, MD
1975 Kenneth Warren, MD
1974 Malcolm Artenstein, MD and Emil Gotschilch, MD
1973 Frank Austen, MD
1972 Zanvil Cohn, MD
1971 Jonathan Uhr, MD
1970 Hans Mueller-Eberhard, MD, DMSc
1969 Robert Chancock, MD
1968 Robert Good, MD, PhD



This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.