Skip to nav Skip to content

The Watanakunakorn Clinician Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2018 Winner: Barry J. Hartman, MD, FIDSA


Hartman.JPGBarry J. Hartman, MD, FIDSA, a renowned clinician and teacher with a long history of service locally and nationally, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2018 Watanakunakorn Clinician Award. Named to honor the memory of Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, this award is presented by the IDSA  Foundation to recognize an IDSA member or fellow for outstanding achievement in the clinical practice of infectious diseases.

Dr. Hartman has earned the respect and admiration of several generations of students, residents, ID fellows, colleagues, and faculty throughout his career. Having transitioned to private practice in the late 1980s, he has remained closely affiliated with Weill Medical College of Cornell in New York City, where he is a clinical professor of medicine. He has delivered annual lectures to medical students on the clinical use of antibiotics, bacteremia, and sepsis for the past 20 years, in addition to presentations at various specialty and subspecialty conferences and ID continuing medical education courses. He has been a member of 30 different medical school committees, including search committees for the school’s dean, the faculty promotions committee, and the general faculty council, which he also led as chair, all while maintaining his own private clinical practice.

Recognized by his institution’s house staff in a survey identifying the most respected attending physicians, Dr. Hartman has repeatedly been named among the Best Doctors in America and in New York. Sought after for his advice on the most challenging clinical cases, he is the ID physician that many colleagues would choose as their own. The author of more than 40 peer-reviewed publications and 12 book chapters, Dr. Hartman served on the panel that developed IDSA’s 2004 practice guidelines for the management of bacterial meningitis and the 2008 management of encephalitis guidelines. He was a member of the IDSA Finance Committee and served as its chair. Active with the American Board of Internal Medicine, he has been a member of the self-evaluation program in infectious diseases and the subspecialty board. He has also served as a councilor of the Infectious Diseases Society of New York.

After obtaining his medical degree from M.S. Hershey Medical Center/Pennsylvania State University and completing his internship, residency, and ID fellowship training at New York Hospital (now New York Presbyterian Hospital-Weil Cornell Medical Center), Dr. Hartman joined the faculty at Cornell University Medical College. He also trained in the laboratory of Dr. Alexander Tomasz at Rockefeller University, where he conducted research on mechanisms of S. aureus resistance.

Truly a “doctor’s doctor,” Dr. Hartman is an esteemed clinician with an impressive record of dedicated service to patients, students, colleagues, and the ID specialty throughout his career. The Society is proud to recognize him with the 2018 Watanakunakorn Award.


Past Watanakunakorn Clinician Award Winners 


2017 Douglas R. Osmon, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2016 Wilbert H. Mason, MD, MPH, FIDSA
2015     James Horton, MD, FIDSA
2014      Eliot W. Godofsky, MD
2013      Johan S. Bakken, MD, PhD and Thomas M. File, Jr., MD, MSc
2012 David N. Gilbert, MD, FIDSA
2011 Stan Deresinski, MD, FIDSA
2010     Marvin J. Tenenbaum, MD, FIDSA
2009 Lawrence J. Eron, MD, FIDSA
2008 Michael L. Butera, MD
2007 Timothy T. Kuberski, MD, FIDSA
2006 Barbara H. Wade, MD, FIDSA
2005 James S. Tan, MD
2004 Donald M. Poretz, MD
2003 Steven Jon Berman, MD, FACP and Richard N. Olans, MD
2002 William A. Agger, MD
2001 H. Gunner Deery, MD and Peter T. Frame, MD
2000 Martin C. McHenry, MD, MS and Chatrchai Watanakunakorn, MD
1999 Gonzalo Ballon-Landa, MD and Thomas G. Slama, MD
1998 David S. McKinsey, MD and Daniel J. Sexton, MD
1997 Ramon E. Moncada, MD
1996 George Atkinson, MD Pankey, MD and Alan D. Tice, MD
1995 Ellie J.C. Goldstein, MD
1994 George Thornton, MD
1993 Edward Septimus, MD



This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.