Skip to nav Skip to content

The Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Email

2018 Winner: Carol A. Kauffman, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA


Carol Kauffman.jpgCarol A. Kauffman, MD, FIDSA, FSHEA, a dedicated mentor to countless trainees and colleagues during her career, is the recipient of IDSA’s 2018 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award. Named to honor the memory of a former IDSA president who was renowned for nurturing the careers of others, this award recognizes individuals who have served as exemplary mentors and who have been exceptional in guiding the professional growth of infectious diseases professionals.

Committed to equity and diversity, Dr. Kauffman has been an inspirational role model for trainees through her excellent patient care, inspirational teaching, innovative research, and participatory leadership. Professor of internal medicine at the University of Michigan Medical School since 1981 and chief of the Infectious Diseases Section of the Veterans Affairs Ann Arbor Healthcare System since 1977, she fosters an energetic, productive, close-knit team and has created a culture of support and encouragement that provides trainees with strong and enduring mentorship. A champion of diversity and inclusion, she has made mentoring a priority with a commitment to fostering the careers of women and encouraging them to seek and excel in leadership roles.

Bringing out the best in trainees and helping them maximize their potential, Dr. Kauffman maintains lifelong mentoring relationships, celebrating former trainees’ successes, providing support during adversity and disappointments, and serving as a valued sounding board. On a recent birthday, more than 80 of Dr. Kauffman’s former colleagues and trainees travelled to San Diego to show their appreciation for the great impact she has had on their lives and to share stories of her ongoing mentorship throughout their careers, her advice on major career decisions, and her help with difficult cases. Many strive to emulate her mentorship style, seeking to be as kind, open, available, and influential in the lives of their trainees as Dr. Kauffman has been in their own.

An exceptional researcher whose interests include the diagnosis and treatment of fungal infections and infections in immunocompromised patients, Dr. Kauffman has published more than 300 peer-reviewed publications. The recipient of multiple awards for her teaching, including an IDSA Clinical Teacher Award in 2012, she has served on the IDSA Board of Directors, several Society committees and task forces, and multiple IDSA practice guideline panels. She earned her medical degree from the University of Michigan Medical School, completed an internship and residency at University of Michigan Medical Center, and completed fellowship training in infectious diseases at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center.

A tireless leader, physician, teacher, researcher, and role model with an immense capacity to mentor, Dr. Kauffman has had a tremendous and ongoing impact on the lives and careers of her mentees. IDSA is delighted to recognize her with the 2018 Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award.


Past Walter E. Stamm Mentor Award Winners

2017 Stephen B. Calderwood, MD, FIDSA
2016 Steve M. Holland, MD
2015 David R. Snydman, MD, FIDSA
2014 G. Ralph Corey, MD, FIDSA
2013      Lucy Tompkins, MD, PhD
2012 Robert A. Weinstein, MD, FIDSA
2011 Jane E. Koehler, MA, MD and William Schaffner, MD, FIDSA
2010 Jack S. Remington, MD, FACP, FRCP, FIDSA 
2009 Richard L. Guerrant, MD, FIDSA
2008 Gerald Medoff, MD, FIDSA
2007 Stanley Falkow, PhD, FIDSA and Neal H. Steigbigel, MD, FIDSA
2006 Kathryn Edwards, MD, FIDSA
2005 Donald Kaye, MD
2004 Gene H. Stollerman, MD
2003 George H. McCracken, Jr., MD
2002 Leon G. Smith, MD
2001     Martin S. Hirsch, MD



This website uses cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Cookies facilitate the functioning of this site including a member login and personalized experience. Cookies are also used to generate analytics to improve this site as well as enable social media functionality.